Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
this soup is also a really gorgeous color when it's done-- very pretty on the table. i hope you all enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Mmmmm!!!! This beautiful megenta color soup is so tasty and delicious!!!! I modified it a bit - I skipped the roasting part (and skipped peeling the red skinned potatoes) and just sauted all the chopped vegetables in a large soup pot. I omitted the thyme - (i dont like it) and instead, after i pureed the soup i added freshly chopped dill. I used soy milk instead of milk. i was a but skeptical about the milk and lemon juice, so i tried the soup before i added those ingredients, then added them and it really balanced the sweetness of the beets. I am glad i added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I altered the recipe slightly- no thyme and instead used chives and parmesan cheese as garnish- and didn't really follow the quantities so it was thicker than expected but still so delicious! The addition of milk and lemon juice definitely made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
The soup was really tasty and beautiful color, but I think I would add more beets and potatoes to that amount of stock just to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
this recipe is fantastic and beautiful to boot. the vegetable mixture actually ended up cooking down quite a bit for me, so the texture and thickness ended up perfect; no modifications necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious. I really enjoyed this soup. I would add more beets next time. Additionally I used fresh thyme not dried and it was perfect. I also added some cooked chicken pieces to the soup when I served it to make it a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Excellent and hearty soup. It is a great starting point for all sorts of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really delicious! This didn't taste heavily of beets to me, but nice, balanced, creamy and lightly sweet. I added 4 cloves of garlic instead of one, and used 1/2 cup of half-and-half instead of 1 1/2 of whole milk to keep the soup thicker but still creamy. Delicious and cheap. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this soup tonight for Halloween dinner, it was absolutely scrumptious. I did not puree it fully, I left it a little chunky, the flavour with the roasted beets and potatoes definately adds to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
A bit bland flavor-wise, so I had to add more pepper, salt, and also about a teaspoon of Tabasco smoked chipotle pepper sauce. To be honest, I am not a big fan of beets in general, but after adding to this recipe as noted, the soup made it possible for me to eat beets. In the future, I might also add some ham or Italian sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States