Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Have to say, I hate it when someone rates the recipe after altering it but here I go (was trying to use up leftover misc things in my fridge from Christmas). First off, I used an acorn squash in add'n to the potato and beets (roasted as directed). I used leeks instead of the onion. For the chick broth, I used 1 cup chick broth (all that I had left), 2 cups vegetable broth and 1 cup white wine (btw-"Better than Bouillon" is awesome). For the milk, I used 1 cup hvy cream and 1/2 cup 1% milk (what I had on hand). This was EXCELLENT but rich. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This soup was excellent! Once pureed, it was very creamy and flavorful. I love that it did not require many ingredients and was very easy to make. The only changes I made were that I forgot to add the lemon juice and I didn't have any celery, but I was equally happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
i was immensely blown away at the most gourmet, savory flavor of this soup. I don't like beets much in general. I thought this recipe toned the strong flavor of it down . The spices and the roasting is the key to the flavor. id make this again and again! not to mention the color! how beautiful. thing is we ate it hot - so i left out the lemon and i also used soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
It is one of my absolute favorite soups. I like to leave mine a little chunky so I just don't blend it as long. I serve it with homemade crostinis and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Really good soup! I replaced the potatoes by sweet potatoes and poured it half and half in a bowl. I served it with a crispy bread and some brie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This soup is DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a hit at a “Russian night” dinner party- many compliments. I made some slight changes. It had a tiny bit of potato texture and a nice raspberry color. I think I put a bit too much garlic and black pepper but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
A bit bland flavor-wise, so I had to add more pepper, salt, and also about a teaspoon of Tabasco smoked chipotle pepper sauce. To be honest, I am not a big fan of beets in general, but after adding to this recipe as noted, the soup made it possible for me to eat beets. In the future, I might also add some ham or Italian sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this soup tonight for Halloween dinner, it was absolutely scrumptious. I did not puree it fully, I left it a little chunky, the flavour with the roasted beets and potatoes definately adds to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really delicious! This didn't taste heavily of beets to me, but nice, balanced, creamy and lightly sweet. I added 4 cloves of garlic instead of one, and used 1/2 cup of half-and-half instead of 1 1/2 of whole milk to keep the soup thicker but still creamy. Delicious and cheap. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States