Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
really really good, I used carrots instead of potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Doubled the veggies, and added garlic and carrots to the roasting pan. Put a pint of heavy cream in the end to finish too. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My mother grew beets in her garden, so I grew up eating a lot of beets: beets for supper all summer long; pickled beets (sour); and borscht (sweet and sour beet soup). I found that this soup recipe did in fact taste good: it reminded me of the type of soups sometimes served in high-end gourmet restaurants. I made mine without milk, and it still tasted good. I will not make this recipe again though because I associate beets with a sour taste rather than a "chicken broth" taste. I really much prefer the sour taste. I can easily imagine that children would like this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I thought it was really good. I loved the smoky taste and the smell, and the lemon juice balances nicely the sweetness, I added more of it, though. Unfortunately, my 3 year old and 11 month old were not thrilled about this soup, but I wasn't going to base my rating on their pickiness. I enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My husband is not normally a fan of beets and we definitely enjoyed this. I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used 3 large beets and one medium sized potato. Substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth since that is what I had available. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Out of this world. I made it as called for but used one minor substitution - a shallot instead of onion because it's what I had on hand. Forget any idea of altering or adjusting or adding weird things like hot sauce. Hot sauce? The recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Tastier than anticipated, that's for sure! Will definately put on my "regulars" list of meals. The only altering done was that I had very small potatoes and only small four beets which made my recipe small so I eye-balled the broth and (1%) milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Super yummy. I veganized it really simply by switching the chicken stock to veggie, and the milk to cashew cream. I mashed it with a potato masher bc cleaning my immersion blender is a pain. Love it! My husband asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Good soup. We needed to add a little something to tweak it. I added cayenne pepper. Garlic croutons worked, too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Amazingly simple and delicious! I made a double batch then added an extra cup each of beets and potatoes as I wanted to use up what I had. Served eight happy campers for dinner. What a great way to incorporate beets into a meal! This is a fabulous starter soup that can be tweaked in so many ways. Glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States