Roasted Beet, Peach and Goat Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Absolutely delicious! For anyone who has a Trader Joe's nearby, they offer fully cooked, peeled, fresh beets in the produce department which streamlined the process incredibly! *Loved* the combo of flavors and textures! A definite keeper; thanks, Megancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is the salad I pull out when I really want to impress. It's rich, impressive, and delicious. I put together everything but the beet slices and the dressing, then add those immediately before serving and toss again. Adding the warm beets melts the cheese and just slightly wilts the salad, which is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
this was really great, and versatile, I added avacado, and tomatoes, and red onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very nice! I substituted the goat cheese for light feta (lower in fat), and used olive oil instead. I also substituted the pistachios for roasted almonds. The combination of the flavours = YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Very delicious, I just used what I had on hand: 3 small beets, 1 large and perfectly ripe peach, walnuts and green onions. For the dressing I used 2 T. oil and 1.5 T. balsamic vinegar, plus salt and pepper. It was very delicious, the sweet beet and sweeter peach with the sour snap of balsmaic vinegaraette ad punch of onion is perfect. With goat cheese it would have been better (I woudl have lightened up on the vinegar in that case), unfortunately I didn't have any on hand. I piled the salad on some fresh greens, and loved every bite. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I omitted the greens as I knew there were green salads being bought to the party that would be eaten along side the salad. I toasted pine nuts instead of using pistachios and used olive oil, balsamic and a little sweet rice wine vinegar for the dressing. The peach, roasted beet, goat cheese combo is sublime. Next time I might try caramelized walnuts with maple syrup as suggested in the "beet salad with goat cheese" recipe submitted on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovingmama
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
WOW - impressive looking and tasty. I used roasted pine nuts instead. Next time, I will also add rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Although I think it has potential, and it was good, the goat cheese, fruit and beets are too heavy for the lettuce's used, and it becomes mashed/compressed just from the weight. Maybe if it was served on a platter with guests being able to add what they wanted, vs. having it pre-mixed, that would work. But pre-mixed I found it settled too much for the types of lettuces used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Beautiful and delicious! I used a spring mix/herb salad blend, safflower oil for the walnut oil and added just a squeeze of lemon to the dressing (only because I had half a lemon left from another recipe I was serving). I actually roasted the beets the previous day, intending on making this salad then, but our plans fell through and the beets were stashed in the refrigerator overnight. I used a goat cheese that was pretty creamy, and the flavor and texture of that with this salad was just incredible. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Given the simplicity of this recipe, I expected the results to be good but not spectacular. Boy, was I wrong -- this is a five-star dish! A week before I made this, my husband and I dined at a well-known East Coast restaurant that features organic local produce. We agreed that this yummy salad would have been right at home on that menu. Only change I made was to boil the beets rather than roasting them (in order to save time). This dish was served along with the Corn and Basil Cakes from noblepig.com. Nice combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States