Roasted Beet, Peach and Goat Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I used spring mix instead of the mache and arugula. Subbed yellow onion for the shallots, skipped the pistachios and used a creamy pimento pepper goat cheese. As for the dressing, I used sweet almond oil instead of walnut oil. Overall the salad was nice, and a little different. My fiance went back for extra salad (which is unusual- he's a meat and potatoes kind of guy) so this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I tweeked this recipe a bit...I used canned beets instead of fresh, omitted the pistachios, and used a light balsamic vinagrette dressing...all of which saved a lot of prep time. Even with my substitutions, the salad was AWESOME! I served it with grilled bone-in pork chops. I will definitley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
this salad was wonderful! i was craving beets and my mouth watered when i read the recipe. it was even more amazing when i tasted it. roasting the beets brings out the sweetness. i heated the peach slices in walnut oil and put the beets in the salad straight from the oven. it was a great warm salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Although I think it has potential, and it was good, the goat cheese, fruit and beets are too heavy for the lettuce's used, and it becomes mashed/compressed just from the weight. Maybe if it was served on a platter with guests being able to add what they wanted, vs. having it pre-mixed, that would work. But pre-mixed I found it settled too much for the types of lettuces used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this using 2 kiwis since the store didn't have peaches ... it was awesome! I used an arugula, spinach mix and only had 1/2 the goat cheese I needed so I added some shredded parmesean. I will make this again for sure AND I'll be cooking more beets - they were so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This knocked my socks off! Each flavor perfectly complimented the next. Couldn't find walnut oil so used peanut instead. I think the ratios of fruit to salad are a little off as written--I liked it even better when I made it a second time and just "eye-balled" it. What a summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Given the simplicity of this recipe, I expected the results to be good but not spectacular. Boy, was I wrong -- this is a five-star dish! A week before I made this, my husband and I dined at a well-known East Coast restaurant that features organic local produce. We agreed that this yummy salad would have been right at home on that menu. Only change I made was to boil the beets rather than roasting them (in order to save time). This dish was served along with the Corn and Basil Cakes from noblepig.com. Nice combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Awesome! This is one of my favorite salads, now. I have been eating this salad everyday for lunch for the past 4 days :) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
We really enjoyed this salad. I didn't have peaches so I used fresh mango instead. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is the salad I pull out when I really want to impress. It's rich, impressive, and delicious. I put together everything but the beet slices and the dressing, then add those immediately before serving and toss again. Adding the warm beets melts the cheese and just slightly wilts the salad, which is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States