Roasted Asparagus with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Yummy and easy for 2!! I use 1 pound of asparagus, add roasted garlic, sea salt and toss with all of the vinegar in a baking dish and spray with an olive oil "cooking spray" - stir half way thr. Bake time watch - it will change depending on the "thickness" of the spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
We are on a huge "roasted" vegetable phase right now and these were delicious. The tops get nice and crispy, yet the stems and insides stay firm but moist. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
good recipe. I had never roasted asparagus before and was very pleased with the results. None of this dunking them in ice water buisness. The asparagus was still nice and crisp and the oil and vinegar really brought out the flavor. The only thing I did differently was to lightly sautee the shallots with some fresh garlic before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Great base. I didn't have any shallots or red wine vinegar so I just had olive oil and S&P. I sprinkled some lemon juice on them when they came out of the oven. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GollyGeeDamn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This was great and easy. Even my boyfriend who doesn't like asparagus actually complimented me on this dish! I didn't have shallots but substituted garlic, which worked out great. I also used the kosher salt. Because I was cooking something else at 500 degrees, I cooked this at 500 degrees for 10-12 min on the top rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Very good and easy recipe! Just make sure you don't overbake (like I did....they got a little shrively, but that was totally my fault). A nice way to dress up asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I did the recipe almost exactly but only had 1 shallot on hand. And I just eyeballed the oil & vinegar. Even so, it was delicious! Hubby loved it too - will def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Simple preparation for a vegetable that should shine on it's own merits. The shallots were a great addition. I did not have red wine vinegar so I subbed in Balsamic, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisol, SD
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe was very easy and delicious! My family loved it and many requested the recipe. The first time I made it, the cooking length of time may have been too long. It became soggy but the flavor really soaked in the asparagus. Luckily, my boyfriend prefers the asparagus soggy. If you prefer a crunchier side of the asparagus, I would cook it a few minutes less. The second time I cooked it, I tried to sautee it on the stove. It was crunchier but the red-wine vinegar didn't really soak it on. I added a few more drizzle when I turned off the fire. It was delicious! Highly recommend this recipe if you like easy and big on flavor asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisol, SD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Perfect! When my guys are raving about how good the vegetable dish is in a meal, you know you're on to something. Thanks for posting this! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States