Roasted Asparagus with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a good recipe - and tasted great with barbeque chicken thighs and small red potatoes. I made the recipe as directed - and agree with other reviewers that the time for cooking is way too long (might depend on the diameter of the asparagus). Generally I find 8 to 10 minutes roasting time to be adequate for most asparagus at the temperature indicated - this was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This recipe is quite good. I have also tried omitting the vinegar and adding smashed garlic cloves which turns out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was really great, I never had asparagus like this before. It had a very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisol, SD
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe was very easy and delicious! My family loved it and many requested the recipe. The first time I made it, the cooking length of time may have been too long. It became soggy but the flavor really soaked in the asparagus. Luckily, my boyfriend prefers the asparagus soggy. If you prefer a crunchier side of the asparagus, I would cook it a few minutes less. The second time I cooked it, I tried to sautee it on the stove. It was crunchier but the red-wine vinegar didn't really soak it on. I added a few more drizzle when I turned off the fire. It was delicious! Highly recommend this recipe if you like easy and big on flavor asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisol, SD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I followed this recipe to a T and was very happy with it. I had never roasted asparagus and it was delicious. I almost forgot the final splash of vinegar - and I'm glad I didn't because I think it added something. The shallots were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I really like this recipe, but I leave off the last splash of vinegar. I also find that the asparagus is done after about 14 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was wonderful! I will be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Great recipe. Make sure you use fresh asparagus, not canned or frozen. If you use canned, you really haven't made this recipe, so don't complain when it doesn't turn out and then give it a poor rating. It's not the recipe's fault if you don't follow directions. There is a huge difference between the canned and fresh asparagus or canned and fresh anything, actually. Too bland? Spice it up a bit. This recipe can be made to your spice tolerance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I made the mistake of using canned asparagus. It was awful. The canned asparagus was soggy and gooey--very disgusting. I liked the flavor mixture though, so I'll probably try this again with fresh asparagus, but never again with canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States