Roasted Asparagus with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
What isn't to love! Adjust cooking time for the size of your Asparagus. About 10 minutes was good for mine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Good & easy. I didnt change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
this was tasty and easy, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I used olive oil rather than the cooking spray and set my oven timer for 10 minutes - when it came out of the oven I was discouraged. Uh-oh, I thought. Hubs will never go for this shriveled up, dried-up looking asparagus, so I sliced him up a tomato as a back-up. Truth be told, I didn't think it would work for me either. But surprise, surprise, it was delicious! Roasting it with the Parmesan rather than sprinkling it on afterward is what made this so interesting and different. Still, next time I'd start off setting that timer for a few minutes less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These are delicious; you can really make people fight over asparagus! Roasted asparagus is one of my all time favorites. But the flavor is greatly enhanced by allowing the stalks to caramelize in a hot oven. So I crank the oven to 550 degrees or I use the grill outside. It may seem excessive, but trust me, you want to try this variation. Use a rimmed baking sheet. (Never use a glass casserole above 425 degrees). Buy stalks no thicker than a number two pencil. Trim off the bottom ~third of the stalk so you're left with only the tender end. Forget garlic - it will burn. Toss the room temperature stalks in some (~1/8 cup) olive oil, kosher salt, pepper and a bit of some freshly ground nutmeg. Nutmeg is one of those secret ingredients that disappears into the food but points-up the flavor of the vegetable. (Try it on spinach, too) NOTE: lay the asparagus side-by-side on the pan in a single layer or they will create steam and not caramelize. Right before dinner, put them in the oven. In 6 or 7 minutes they'll be slightly crispy. You will make some smoke so you'll need the kitchen exhaust fan on high. Parmigiano Reggiano is optional. I use a rasp to create a snowy texture, and then sprinkle it as soon as they come out of the oven. It melts instantly. But it's almost like 'Gilding the Lilly' because caramelized asparagus has plenty of flavor as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
A wonderful side dish that is simple to make. In a separate nonstick pan, sautéed 1/3 cup pine nuts until golden, about 4 minutes. Used them to garnish the roasted asparagus along with a touch of freshly squeezed lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
delicious and this is coming from someone who thought she hated asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I spent the first 72 years of my life not wanting to even try asparagus, now I want to shoot myself for not trying it sooner. Thanks Diane, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a really simple and easy dish to make. If you have a small convection oven like I do, you can just make it in there instead. I basically just folded aluminum foil into a small version of a casserole dish because I didn't feel like washing anything, oiled the foil with olive oil and washed the asparagus before seasoning it. Takes about 10-12 minutes depending on how crunchy you want it. WARNING: make sure that the top head of the spear is well oiled or else it will turn out feeling like a bristle and scratchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smhayley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Fast and easy to make. I didn't measure anything. Just used my own judgement with the garlic powder, salt and Parmesean cheese. It turned out great. Wouldn't hesitate to serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Cheesy, crispy, and delicious, roasted red potatoes.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States