Roasted Apples and Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I rarely assign 5 stars, because it means there is zero room for improvement. I have given this recipe one of my coveted 5-star ratings, as I truly don't see any way to make it better. Starting with the frozen Brussels sprouts. I urge you not to think you will improve this recipe by using fresh. Unless you are pulling them from your own garden, Brussels sprouts are never truly fresh, and they rapidly deteriorate once harvested. If you MUST use fresh, be sure to at least use the ones that come still attached to the stalk. The reason they sell them that way is because of the rapid deterioration these vegetable experience once harvested. This is also why so many people think they don't like Brussels sprouts! Just be sure you thaw them first. Use your microwave defroster to speed this process. The original recipe here has conflicting instructions on that point (see the footnote). I assure you that you want them to be thawed. The misture of apples and onions into this recipe is perfect, and the lemon adds a nice tang. As the orignal recipe notes in the footnotes, you can adjust roasting time for desired doneness. I find that 40 mintues produces a better result, turning the vegetables every 10-15 minutes for even browning. You want them slightly darkened and carmelized. I am experimenting with using the convection feature of our oven to see if I can acheive this effect quicker. Best to use non-stick foil to line your roasting pan to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Let me preface by saying I combined this and the Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Pecan recipe because I like apples and pecans :). I started the process on the stove with my cast iron skillet to ensure a caramelized brussels sprout and then moved to my oven for 15-20 minutes. Absolutely delicious, no bitter taste either and the apples added a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Loved this!! Unfortunately we only had one onion on hand, and we used fresh brussel sprouts, and one granny smith apple and one gala apple. We placed everything in cast iron bowls and put them on the grill instead of in the oven, it was awesome!! Loved the little bit of char and carmelization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Loved these! However-I had to use what I had on hand....Used fresh Brussels sprouts (about 16 oz), 1 apple, 1 onion and no lemon. Also, I mixed all ingredients and placed the mixture in aluminum foil and baked for about 50 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsakitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very tasty and easy to prepare! I used fresh brussels sprouts and cut them in half... came out great. I am glad to have a brussels sprouts recipe that doesn't include bacon or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Amazing. I made with fresh brussel sprouts. The secret to making them good is to cut out the choke. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is great. Only thing I did different was use fresh brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I prepared this recipe with 1 cup pecans. The apples did not do much for me. I did like the pecans with the crunch. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have made this recipe but use parchment paper (no cleanup) and I put the brussels and apples in a bag and drizzle olive oil into bag along with sea salt to cover them all before putting them in my table top convection oven for 20 mins at 400-425 degrees. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I loved this, my husband did not. The brussels apple ratio was off... way more apple and I only did 1.5- great idea thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States