Roasted Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Another operator error, I had a small acorn squash and cooked it for the full 50minutes. So it was, um, mushy. (Be kind, I've never, ever, baked squash so this was a lesson learned!) Nevertheless, it made an acorn mash which was kind of like mashed potatoes. (An acorn squash savory mashed potato dish to be exact). I actually liked it. In fact, I'd use this as a mashed potato replacement. As I am here eating it I think it'd be really nice with pork roast, if I cooked meat, that is. I liked the savory component of the onion/garlic/coriander/nutmeg mix as I think it balanced the nutty sweetness of the squash. Since, as mentioned, I've never made acorn squash before, I can't imagine adding more sugar to this squash, it's already sweet enough. Oh heck, maybe I can imagine, sweet potato casserole comes to mind. Anyway, despite the consistency error, it does not change the fact that I found the blend of flavors quite good! i will try this recipe again but admit I'll have to pause and decide-- do I make mash or do I make it how its supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It's a nice change up from the sweet style of acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Only 4 stars because you can actually eat the skin too..... why bother scooping out the flesh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dorchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This did not work out for me, but may have been operator error. Followed the recipe to the T, but my squash came out mushy. I checked my oven temp with a thermometer when I realized this, and it was spot on. In an attempt to save the dish, I added the chicken broth suggested by others and was able to create a mashed potato like dish. This, of course, did not pair well with brown rice as it was like serving two starches. I truly appreciate the originality of this dish, but personally found it a bit hard to execute. If I try it again, I will drop my oven temperature or shorten the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Easy. Excellent flavor. I used with buttercup squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My husband and I both thought this was outstanding, and that says a lot, because he can be quite difficult to please. I was looking for something healthy, not just another recipe for a butter/brown sugar mix to bake into the acorn squash. I wanted something that would enable us to not only taste the acorn squash, but to also try a dish that would enhance the flavor of the spices. Very good!!! Very flavorful and delicious and has the added bonus of being very healthy! I can also envision ways to prepare this to experiment with more flavors, but this is awesome as is! Thanks so much for sharing this, Jen! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is SO good. I wanted something hearty and warm for dinner so I made this, with a few changes. I halfed the recipe and added chilli powder, vegetable stock, and tofu as recommended by other reviewers, and also roasted up half a yam and added that too. It still made enough for two, so I'll probably make a soup with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This smelled really good when it was cooking, but we just didn't like it at all. Something about the onion + coriander + sweet squash taste just didn't go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was not good at all. Mealy texture, bland taste. I added some water when I combined the squash and onions, to let the squash simmer in that a little bit. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
great stuff! i didn't have any coriander but it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States