Roasted Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2000
Rich flavorful and nutritionally superior to other dressings that might accompany hardy meats and roasted fowl. Onions and spices provide a flavor boost that would make squash a more attractive dish for people who otherwise would resist trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
it needs some sort of sauce or gravy. it's too dry by itself. it might make a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This is very tasty! I added cinnamon and used molasses instead of brown sugar and it turned out great. It was a bit dry, maybe it needs a bit more oil or butter. I'll make it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
YUM!! This is a great side dish! I love it! I served at thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! Even the kids and that is hard to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made this for a potluck, for a woman who wanted a savory squash dish instead of the usual sweet type. Didn't have coriander on hand, so I used a bit more onion, garlic and nutmeg. It turned out *quite* well, I got multiple compliments and not a bit was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
While the flavor of this dish is terrific, the texture is simply too dry. I stood at my refrigerator, searching for something, "anything" that I could add to make it more palatable. I finally added about 1/2 cup of pineapple juice and cooked it in that for an additional 5 minutes. It did the trick! I will make it again, but will also add the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFALO GAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otisco, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe is really good, though missing a few key spices. I added spinach and chili powder to give it a little more flavor and added some tofu to make it a meal. I really like the sauted squash though, never would have thought of that myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Adding chicken broth after the squash was incorporated with the onions really helped give the dish a much nicer consistency. Also, try adding a splash of balsamic vinegar to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Good stuff... I fixed this with Balsamic glazed Salmon, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEOKIFAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States