Roasted Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great! I cut it in half and grilled the cut open squash for 25 minutes then chopped it and tossed with the spices, substituting sage and lemon zest for the coriander. Returned it to the grill for 5 min on each side in a grill basket with tomato chunks and onion chunks also tossed with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I thought this was a very nicely seasoned recipe. I did omit the onions. I served this with a spaghetti casserole and collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I've made this three times in the last two weeks. Such great flavor, goes with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This recipe was good, but not great, so we gave it 3 stars. The flavor was good, the texture was OK & it needed way more than the recommended salt to really bring out the flavor. One thing that my husband & I thought was that it makes for a good starch replacement, but it really is missing something. It's a good alternative to making sweet acorn squash, but some people may have a hard time with the texture and flavor. I will try to experiment with it a bit but I do not recommend serving this to friends without trying it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I modified this recipe by: placing peeled and diced butternut squash on a baking sheet; drizzling the butter on top; sprinkling it all with the seasonings and butter; then roasting it for 50 minutes, turning a couple times while baking. YUM! The result was a fantastic side dish on a rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I was excited to try this recipe from the reviews, but I have to say it was just ok. It wasn't something to rave about. It masked the flavor of the squash and I suppose that is what alot of people like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was great. I added some apple sauce for extra moisture (instead of extra butter) at it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Took the advice of another rater and added some chicken broth - it was fantastic! Best acorn squash recipe I've ever tried. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Good stuff... I fixed this with Balsamic glazed Salmon, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEOKIFAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Adding chicken broth after the squash was incorporated with the onions really helped give the dish a much nicer consistency. Also, try adding a splash of balsamic vinegar to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States