Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Oh my god! Made it and it was fabulous! My husband said it was one of the best soups he has ever had. I agree. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westseattlebodyworks
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I admit I was skeptical at first of adding the nutmeg and cinnamon, but I tried it and hubby and I LOVED it! Mostly stuck to the recipe; however, I did soften my squash whole in the microwave rather than the oven to save time. I also added just a couple ounces cream cheese per another reviewer's recommendation, which made it even richer. Although, it would definitely be yummy without it, too. Highly recommend this soup for a cold fall or winter day and will without a doubt be making it many more times to come! Can't wait to have it left over for lunch tomorrow! YUM!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
topped it with whip cream and severed it cold guests loved it and thought i was a genius, naturally i took all the credit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this with left over roasted acorn squash. followed the recipe and it came out delicious. I did use my immersion blender. This was my first time making this soup and I was pleased with the results. Nice fall time dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a tasty recipe--but I'll warn you right now, I revised it for a slow cooker only because I don't do ovens when the temps are still in the triple digits (like they are in Phoenix right now). I made 1/2 the batch. I washed the whole acorn squash then set it in a 5 qt. slow cooker and turned to low for 8 hours. I let the squash cool to handle then peeled and seeded it. I followed the rest of the recipe except I used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of half'n'half and pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon/nutmeg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I recommend substituting in regular milk (I used Almond Milk) for the half and half. Delicious, fast and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This soup was delicious. Even the kids all wanted seconds. I used regular cream as I didn't have any half-and-half. Topped with chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this from leftover baked acorn squash. It had the brown sugar and butter from baking. I sauted the onion, carrot, then added the garlic. I add my ajusted amount of chicken broth. Then I added the squash. I let it simmer until all of the ingredients were nice and warm. I used my immersion blender to blend it all in the pot. Then I added a replacement for 1/2 & 1/2. I used 1/8 c heavy cream and 1/8 c 2% milk. I used pumkin spices and tabasco sauce. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Really tasty soup. I got a load of acorn squash in my CSA storage share and was looking to do something different than the typical sweet side dish preparation of it. I love that this recipe uses half and half instead of heavy cream. With a side of hearty, crusty sourdough bread, this soup is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I made this for 17 people on Thanksgiving, and it was a hit! I used 2 acorn squash and 2 butternut squash and increased the other ingredients accordingly. The only change I made was 2% milk instead of half'n'half. Delicious! The leftovers were a popular choice for lunch and dinner the next day. It was just as good left-over as it was fresh, and it was good served cold as well as hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States