Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
added a little cream cheese and little hot pepper like we do with our butternut squash soup. Very good with club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a tasty recipe--but I'll warn you right now, I revised it for a slow cooker only because I don't do ovens when the temps are still in the triple digits (like they are in Phoenix right now). I made 1/2 the batch. I washed the whole acorn squash then set it in a 5 qt. slow cooker and turned to low for 8 hours. I let the squash cool to handle then peeled and seeded it. I followed the rest of the recipe except I used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of half'n'half and pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon/nutmeg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this from leftover baked acorn squash. It had the brown sugar and butter from baking. I sauted the onion, carrot, then added the garlic. I add my ajusted amount of chicken broth. Then I added the squash. I let it simmer until all of the ingredients were nice and warm. I used my immersion blender to blend it all in the pot. Then I added a replacement for 1/2 & 1/2. I used 1/8 c heavy cream and 1/8 c 2% milk. I used pumkin spices and tabasco sauce. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I admit I was skeptical at first of adding the nutmeg and cinnamon, but I tried it and hubby and I LOVED it! Mostly stuck to the recipe; however, I did soften my squash whole in the microwave rather than the oven to save time. I also added just a couple ounces cream cheese per another reviewer's recommendation, which made it even richer. Although, it would definitely be yummy without it, too. Highly recommend this soup for a cold fall or winter day and will without a doubt be making it many more times to come! Can't wait to have it left over for lunch tomorrow! YUM!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this with left over roasted acorn squash. followed the recipe and it came out delicious. I did use my immersion blender. This was my first time making this soup and I was pleased with the results. Nice fall time dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Really tasty soup. I got a load of acorn squash in my CSA storage share and was looking to do something different than the typical sweet side dish preparation of it. I love that this recipe uses half and half instead of heavy cream. With a side of hearty, crusty sourdough bread, this soup is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I made this for 17 people on Thanksgiving, and it was a hit! I used 2 acorn squash and 2 butternut squash and increased the other ingredients accordingly. The only change I made was 2% milk instead of half'n'half. Delicious! The leftovers were a popular choice for lunch and dinner the next day. It was just as good left-over as it was fresh, and it was good served cold as well as hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Oh my god! Made it and it was fabulous! My husband said it was one of the best soups he has ever had. I agree. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westseattlebodyworks
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I recommend substituting in regular milk (I used Almond Milk) for the half and half. Delicious, fast and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
topped it with whip cream and severed it cold guests loved it and thought i was a genius, naturally i took all the credit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States