Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
So delicious! I also roasted my veggies along w the acorn squash because I love the mellow sweetness roasting brings out in veggies. Other than that, I followed the recipe as is. I was so impressed with how hearty and delicious the soup turned out. A definite keeper! I only wish I didn't halve the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great Autumn soup really shows the flavors of the season. I made twice the amount and added in a few green apples and cloves. Served with club crackers to complete it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I liked it. I didn't have half-n-half, so I used plain non-fat Greek yogurt instead, and then added 1 Tbs of brown sugar to counter the plain yogurt. It was wonderful. I made enough for 8 additional servings that I put in the freezer for those crazy soccer practice nights to pair with a grilled ham and cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wilkison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious as written! I make this one a lot (though I'll confess I add salt). It's the perfect combination of sweet and savory flavor. I've also made it veganized (veggie broth for the chicken broth, canned coconut milk for the half&half, olive oil for the butter) and it turns out great. Sometimes I sub the carrot for a small baked yam (added with the squash, not the onion) and omit the garlic, which is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I didn't have a carrot, and I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, and it still came out great. This is going in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
my first bite of this was disappointed...i wanted it to be butternut. but the more bites the happier i am! i doubled the squash and the cinnamon and nutmeg, left the rest the same. added a dash of chili-garlic sauce to my bowl at the end and served with a dollop of sour cream (the key to soup!) love it, will find again when i get another overrun of these squashes. my 2 and 3 year old also like it (non spicy version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made it as described, except I used my own veg stock instead of chicken and I used an immersion blender in the pot. I was expecting to spike my own bowl with sriracha, because I like some heat (but my toddler doesn't) & a couple of other reviewers said it was bland, but I didn't end up using the hot sauce at all - it was delicious as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very much enjoyed this soup recipe. I made has written, only didn't puree the veggies all the way down. I used my blender stick so that I could leave some of the veggies in small pieces. I like the texture the vegetables add to the soup. I did freeze some of this and it reheated very well. Always a plus in my book. I served this with 'French Baguettes' from AR. The next time I make this I'm going to add some cayenne pepper or Cajun season to give it a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I roasted the acorn squash cut side up with butter and maple syrup. That was the only change. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
FABULOUS!!! I just ate my first bowl. Going back for another :)Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Hogan Wick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States