Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is so yummy and so good for you, too! I added 1 large, chopped Granny Smith apple to the veggies I sautéed and because I am allergic to milk, I substituted coconut milk for the half and half. It was amazing and is the perfect fall soup! Great after visiting the pumpkin farm and corn maze on a chilly October afternoon. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Tried this soup for the first time and overall it was good. I did, however, HAVE to adjust it slightly because it was rather bland. I made one-half of the recipe which served 4 people adequately. I cooked the squash in the microwave rather than the oven - perhaps that made a difference(?) and although I adjusted the other ingredients since I only used 1 squash, I found it very bland. As someone else suggested, I added red pepper flakes thinking that would help - it didn't. So, although I was trying to avoid using brown sugar, I made small additions until the flavor improved. This soup does have a nice consistency and I will make it again - with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I thought this was great! I used almond milk instead of half & half and vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I thought this soup was wonderful. Here in Southern Indiana where I live acorn squash are plentiful so I have been baking them for weeks. I altered the recipe a bit when I made it. Instead of chicken stock I used one can of chicken broth and one can of beef broth. I also sauteed the carrots, onions and garlic for a lot longer than 7 minutes to give the broth a nice caramelized accent. I also omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg and added some red pepper flakes for a bit of spice. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Perfect as is. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Really good recipe. added a bit of allspice to the mix and used 1 cup milk instead of half and half. also roasted the seeds and used them for a delicious garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Roasted the onion, carrots and garlic along with the squash. Combined all in a pan with the rest of ingredients and used my immersion blender from other reviews. Only roast garlic for about half an hour, then take out of oven and set aside til ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This soup was delicious. Even the kids all wanted seconds. I used regular cream as I didn't have any half-and-half. Topped with chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Smooth, good flavor but I felt it needed something to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Good flavor but will need to modify to improve texture to be more soup-like. I think this might be a great sauce to use with a pork roast and I'm going to try that next time I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States