Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious as written! I make this one a lot (though I'll confess I add salt). It's the perfect combination of sweet and savory flavor. I've also made it veganized (veggie broth for the chicken broth, canned coconut milk for the half&half, olive oil for the butter) and it turns out great. Sometimes I sub the carrot for a small baked yam (added with the squash, not the onion) and omit the garlic, which is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I didn't have a carrot, and I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, and it still came out great. This is going in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
my first bite of this was disappointed...i wanted it to be butternut. but the more bites the happier i am! i doubled the squash and the cinnamon and nutmeg, left the rest the same. added a dash of chili-garlic sauce to my bowl at the end and served with a dollop of sour cream (the key to soup!) love it, will find again when i get another overrun of these squashes. my 2 and 3 year old also like it (non spicy version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made it as described, except I used my own veg stock instead of chicken and I used an immersion blender in the pot. I was expecting to spike my own bowl with sriracha, because I like some heat (but my toddler doesn't) & a couple of other reviewers said it was bland, but I didn't end up using the hot sauce at all - it was delicious as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very much enjoyed this soup recipe. I made has written, only didn't puree the veggies all the way down. I used my blender stick so that I could leave some of the veggies in small pieces. I like the texture the vegetables add to the soup. I did freeze some of this and it reheated very well. Always a plus in my book. I served this with 'French Baguettes' from AR. The next time I make this I'm going to add some cayenne pepper or Cajun season to give it a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I roasted the acorn squash cut side up with butter and maple syrup. That was the only change. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
FABULOUS!!! I just ate my first bowl. Going back for another :)Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Skipped cinnamon/nutmeg. My husband loves it with hot sauce, he loves everything with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
We did not like this at all. Maybe I did something wrong....it tastes like hairspray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. Not too impressed. Lacks depth and rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States