Roast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Best Onion Soup recipe. I've been trying for years. This one is simple and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is hands down, THE best roast I have ever made (and I have made my share). My husband says it's the best roast he's ever eaten... And he's tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Amazing delicious flavor!!! I also finished the cooking in my crockpot after searing the beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe really will bring you back to Sunday suppers at Grandma's. So tasty and satisfying. I bet you could get people to happily eat haggis with this delicious gravy on it! I served the roast with creamed potatoes and steamed asparagus. Everyone cleaned their plate and a couple went back for seconds. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Borrego Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made some minor modifications, the roast was great. I cooked it in a dutch oven, substituted 2 Cups beef broth for the water and bouillon, used 1 tsp salt (instead of 1 tbsp), and mixed in a roux instead of the water flour mixture. My gravy was light instead of dark/clear, but the flavor really popped. I also added baby carrots about an hour in. Everyone loved it, I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was really good I substituted the beef roast for venison and the gravy was different, but in a good way. I seasoned the roast before searing. I will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is hands down the BEST roast I've ever eaten! I don't cook with salt so I added it afterwards but I did add 2 Bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is average at best. The roast is certainly tender but the gravy and the meat turned out bland - and I followed the recipe to a t-easpoon. Had to use a jar gravy to save the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LesBlankenship
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Enjoyed it and will make it again- but will use less salt next time. Everything else was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LesBlankenship

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
We have made this 4-5 times as written except with dry basil and not too strong decaffeinated coffee. We really love how easy and tasty it is. The gravy is very rich and and flavorful. I don't even like beef roasts that much but this is one that is delicious every time! Makes excellent left over hot beef sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States