Roast Turkey With Tasty Chestnut Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
What have you done with the giblets? My Gran, Mum, sister and I loved them. Much too good to waste. Cook them separately then either eat with the roast turkey or munch on them later. We always stuff the breast end with chestnut stuffing and the neck end with sausage meat. No turkey roast is complete without bread sauce. Cabriolaurie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I've been making chestnut stuffing for more than 30 years, my mother made it before me and my grandmother had the recipe from her mother. I used to criss cross the chestnut too and that is a task I did for many years & hated it. My fingers were so sore and took over an hour to peel 2-3 lbs. About 4 yrs ago I decided to take a hammer to them. I hit each w/a hammer until they are split, then put them in the water for about 30 minutes until they are soft inside. You can also put them in the oven after they have been hit to save the vitamins. Then run them under cold water if I want to use them right away or wait until they cool. I also use ground beef and cook the giblets and grind them up and add them along w/onions, garlic, salt/pepper, oregano and bags of bread stuffing. I used to fry all of this for years, but now I put the stuffing in the oven and cover w/tin foil and bake for about 45 minutes (depending on the amount). Much easier and just as tasty. This can be done a day in advance. Stuff the bird as usual on Tday. Have a great Thanksgiving everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
obviously miss francis is a hard woman to please but i found this dish very tasty, and obviously being a better cook than miss francis my turkey was moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Ignore the snobs of society
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
very dry, boring and bland..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was a hit last night for Thanksgiving! I'd never cooked with chestnuts before (half of the bag I bought had spoiled unfortunately, so the stuffing wasn't all that chestnutty); they were a seriously yummy addition to stuffing but time consuming to prepare. I added apples and used fresh herbs instead of dried, which I think is crucial to the flavor and appearance. I baked the leftover stuffing that didn't make it into the turkey, and it was a bit buttery--next time I might cut down on the butter and substitute some broth. We had an extra two guests for dinner last night and now there is just not enough leftovers! I might make another batch of this stuffing--it's seriously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The stuffing was very tasty, but too much bread crumbs and not enough other stuff. If i make this again in future i'll definitely add some fresh fruit (apples, pears).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Deeeelicious! This went over well at my Thanksgiving dinner. Bad thing that there wasn't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Melt in your mouth kind of yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States