Roast Pumpkin and Feta Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Fabulous flavor and, as risotto goes, is pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Absolutely delicious meal! The only changes I made were to use chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, and to increase the broth by 50%. It came out creamy and flavorful. My husband was gushing, which made it well worth the time it took to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was quite good - serves more than four. I would make again; however, it was a bit time consuming to prepare the pumpkin. It would definitely make a good "company" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
very good. first time cooking risotto. added some white wine and sage at the beginning then a little butter at the end at it was great. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roberts Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Very good--used butternut squash instead of pumpkin because it was out of season. Flavors were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I didn't have pumpkin, so I tried this recipe with Acorn Squash. It was fabulous, so I tried it another day with the pumpkin, but my family didn't like it nearly as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I didn't have any pumpkin, so used butternut squash instead, regardless, the recipe was fantastic. The combination of the feta and the roasted butternut was amazing. I left the feta in the oven until the edges started to go brown and roasted the squash with some dried sage. Absolutely delicious adn we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Fabulous! But I have to add the caveat that I modified this to fit local ingredients by using kabocha (Japanese pumpkin) and Thai rice. I loved how the sweet mellowness of the pumpkin contrasted with the saltiness of the feta. Since I knew I would have leftovers, I only stirred together the portion I was planning on eating. When warming the leftovers, I reheated the rice and pumpkin separately and then stirred them together with the spinach... no problems with mushiness. That could be because of the different type of rice, but it seems worth a shot to store your leftover ingredients separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
We loved this recipe! The sweetness of the pumpkin mixed with the tanginess of the feta are a wonderful combination. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Also, it was the wrong time of year for fresh pumpkin, so I used a little bit of canned pumpkin instead. I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I gave this recipe full rating, because I believe in it, but I had a horrible time. It was my first risotto, plus I doubled the recipe for 8. I couldn't find fresh pumpkin, so I used butternut squash and a can of pumpkin. I cubed the squash, steamed it (too long), and then baked as suggested. I cooked the risotto as directed. Toward the end, I added a large can of pumpkin (3.5 cups). In a sudden, the dish went bland. I then added more salt, but it was boring, so I added some garam masala. Everything was great again. I stirred in cubed butternut squash, spinach, and garnished with feta and remaining squash. The presentation was beautiful, the taste excellent - but when it came time to serving this dish (5 hours later) it was very mushy. The aram masala was slightly overbearing. The dish was no longer great. I suspect it was too much canned pumpkin w/o benefit of salt/pepper/olive oil baked in the oven. Possibly a small can of pumpkin would be better, but I would only add to taste (I'm not yet convinced canned pumpkin will work). I would make sure the cubes are firm as recommended, because I think this added to the overall mush. Keep garam masal, to a sprinkle and then add to taste (it was truly delightful). I have since been told risotto must be served fresh. Is it true? As a dedicated pumpkin and risotto enthusiast, I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States