Roast Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I've been doing something very similar to these for several years now. If you like your potatoes crispy, after chopping them, dry them thoroughly on paper towel before adding the oil. I put the potatoes in a gallon ziploc bag, then add about 1.5 T of extra virgin olive oil. Generally speaking, the less oil you can use, the better the result. after tossing the potatoes in the bag with the oil to coat, add the herbs. I use dried Herbs de Provence, but almost any herb or blend will work, and kosher salt. Those on reduced sodium diets can omit the salt and add a bit more herbs. Toss to coat again. I also I use a dark cookie sheet lined with Aluminum foil. When opening the bag, dump the potatoes on the foil lined sheet, but DON'T dump the excess oil in the bag onto the sheet. The dark sheet absorbs heat and transfers it to the aluminum foil, and the aluminum foil itself provides easy cleanup. Bake for 20 minutes initially on 450° on the middle rack Then take the pan out of the oven, and gently turn the potatoes. This will keep them from sticking to the foil later. Reduce the heat to 400° and cook for another 15 minutes. A convection oven will yield a bit crispier results, but with only a small reduction in cooking time. Don't open the oven except to turn the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monsieur sax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This recipe is a good place to start from. However, after some trial and error, I would suggest some tweaks. I added garlic powder, italian seasoning and a little parmesan cheese to the mix. I also used olive oil (they needed more then 2 T). I doubled the cooking time(I like mine crispy on the outside) and gave them a stir about half way through cooking. I had fresh rosemary on hand so I used that instead of dried. Also, I've found I have better luck with keeping them from sticking and getting them crispy if I use a metal baking pan (rather than glass).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
570 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I used olive oil and fresh rosemary for this recipe. Place all the ingredients in a ziplock bag to coat thoroughly and then place on the cooking sheet. Also baked for closer to 35 minutes instead of 20 minutes. Delicious recipe and goes so perfectly with steaks or roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
These are so good and couldn't be easier to make. This recipe also works well with regular potatoes. I don't tend to measure what I am using. To cut fat I make sure I use just enough oil to coat the potatoes and spray the baking sheet with spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is almost exactly how I cook my husband's favorite - sea salt rosemary potatoes. Mine is even simpler - just add generous amount of good extra virgin olive oil,red potatoes, sea salt and fresh rosemary to a big baking dish, mix well and bake on 450F,then reduce to 400F. Healthy, simple and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
I like to use fresh herbs for this recipe and olive oil and some lemon juice. It is easy and has a nice flavor. Some other additions are garlic powder and parsley too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Thought I had the best recipe for roasted potatoes already...I was wrong. This is great. I thought a whole tsp. of salt seemed like a lot, but used it all anyways, and it was perfect. A lot of the comments said that these potatoes looked really bland so they added a bunch of spices. However, my old recipe was similar to the ones they made up, and I think the extra spices take away from the simple rosemary flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Very yummy and crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. It does take longer than 20 minutes though. I think I usually keep them in for about 40-45 minutes. **variation** - sometimes I add dried onions, garlic salt, and all kinds of herbs from my herb garden to spice it up a little. Sprinkle the dried onions on tope before placing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
These potatoes were super easy to make and tasted great! I used baby red potatoes, which I then quartered, so there wer enice and bite sized. I also added a little more rosemary and salt; I bet they'd be good with a little bit of garlic salt, too. I definitely recommend this to anyone who likes potatoes, they're the best roast potatoes I think I've ever had!! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was good. Potatoes take way longer than 20 minutes. But once they were finally done-they were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States