Roast Pork with Maple and Mustard Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Fabulous. I found the flavour of the glaze wonderful but it was very thin. To avoid having to baste it constantly, I reduced the baste in a saucepan over medium heat until it thickened. I ended up with a glaze that went on and stayed on. One additional application of the glaze mid-way through cooking was all that was required. Also, if you've got the time, the pork can be made fabulously moist by setting the oven temperature at only 180 F. It will take about 3.5 hours for the internal temperature of the roast to reach 160 F (at which point its perfectly cooked), but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
736 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This is fabulous, I've made it several times, it usually takes around 2 hours in the oven. The 2nd time I made it, I ran out of real maple syrup, so used 1/2 c real, 1/2 c pancake syrup and it was very sweet, so I added about 1 tablespoon of tabasco sauce. Oh baby, it remained sweet but had a subtle kick, I have since added tabasco every time I've made it, even though I use only real maple syrup, really keeps it from being overpoweringly sweet. The other thing I've done is to add in two loaf pans filled with carrots, onions, potatoes, and yams (cut into 1" chunks). I then made up another batch of the glaze and dumped 1/2 over each pan stirred to coat evenly and covered with foil, I stirred them when before serving. It was a heavenly companion to the roast. I cook it in a round glass pan that barely fits the roast, this keeps the glaze from being just a burnt on goop at the end of cooking, so I have some glaze remaining to drizzle over the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was very easy to put together -a major plus for me. I opted to go the route of the crock pot as one of the other reviewers mentioned and it was fantastic. I simply placed the roast in the crock pot, poured the mixed ingredients on top, and let it cook on high for about 4 hours. I also used pure maple syrup and it was perfect. I would suggest you make sure you're not using "maple flavored pancake syrup" if you want this to come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
WOW! This is absolutely wonderful. I had a 5# loin so I doubled the recipe, this made more than enough. I covered the bottom of the crock pot with glaze. Then dusted the loin on both sides with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion granules. Placed the loin in the crock pot and then covered with the remaining glaze. Then when I returned home from church I ladled some of the glaze off and reduced it to make a gravy. I served this with mashed potatoes, corn and green beans. Delicious gravy! The pork came out very tender. Total time in the crockpot on high was 4.5 hours and there was not a hint of pink. Also, the maple syrup gave the loin a beautiful golden look without having to brown it first. I made the glaze the night before, placed in the fridge, so all I had to do before church was throw everything in the crock pot together, so easy! I made the glaze exactly to recipe and wouldn't change a thing! This is definitely going to be a keeper in our house; I can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Fabulous combination. I browned it in a pan with a little salt and pepper, then put everything into a crockpot on low for 8 hours. My family loved it! Came out tender as could be. I've made it a number of times and each time it has turned out the same: FABULOUS. I have also tried this recipe in a loaf pan (helps keep the juice from burning)with pork tenderloins in the oven. Once again, Fabulous. I did baste it every 10-15 minutes and turned it over half way thru. Lovely. Really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vesna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This was delicious! My roast actually took 2 hours to cook completely. I would recommend basting the meat with the juices every 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
The first time, I made this recipe as-is, and it was delicious!! The second time, I upped the oven temp to 425 for the first 30 minutes, then backed it down to 375 until the internal temp was 160. Doing this crusted the outside and sealed in the juices better. This one is a cold-weather favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is absolutely FABULOUS and SO EASY even non-cooks will be able to impress with this one! Yummy pork and even yummier glaze! ! I am a personal chef and have made plenty of recipes, but this one is a 5 star winner. I used salt, pepper, minced garlic and sage to season the roast before browning and it imparted a wonderful flavor to the meat. One tip I would offer to those who reviewed this recipe earlier and said the glaze did not "stick" to the meat, try patting the pork dry before pouring the glaze over the top. This recipe had everyone asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I thought this recipe was great!! It is very easy to throw together & put in the crock pot. The glaze could be too sweet if you use maple flavored pancake syrup instead of real maple syrup. I only have the real maple syrup, so I thought it had an exceptional flavor--also the crockpot mellows flavors more than the oven baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This was an absolutly wonderful recipe. My husband loved it and he usually doesn't care for sauces or glazes. I put only half the glaze on the roast at first and then basted it with the other half and it turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States