Roast Loin of Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this recipe for a Christmas dinner with my family. Not only did *I* think it was marvelous, more importantly, everyone else raved as well. I increased the garlic and lemon juice and didnt have any bay leaves so I just left them out. It was so moist, so tender, and so flavorful. I set it to marinate at 10 a.m. and put it on to cook at 6 p.m. the same day. I can only imagine how wonderful it would have been if I would have waited longer to cook. Will try this on other cuts of pork!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I used the basic receipe and did a 48 hour marinade. Then I cooked the whole bonless pork loin on my offset firebox slow cooker. It took approx. 8 to 9 hrs. I used an electronic meat thermometer and when the pork reached 156 degrees I called it done. It was the most moist roast I have ever tasted. I sliced it thin and served it on good rolls with fresh horseradish. (Five Stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
It took less than 10 minutes to put the marinade together.... the aroma was wonderful. After 24 hours I roasted the pork tenderloin and it was so tender you could cut it with a fork. My dinner party of 6 raved about the pork. Since there was no additional instructions for a gravy, I used the same kind of wine that I roasted the pork in and made a sauce with scallops as a side dish which my guests could use as gravy for their pork if they wanted..... but truthfully no sauce (gravy) was necessary... it was just so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this recipe following all the instructions and everyone raved about it. I wouldn't recommend marinating it for any longer than it states in the recipe. I might even suggest not marinating longer than 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I changed this recipe slightly, I used apple jusice instead of wine, and I was only able to marinate for about 2 hours. But I batsed the roast with the marinade as it cooked, and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was by far the worst tasting pork that I have ever experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Excellent! I used white wine vinegar, which was suggested by others. My husband said several times during the meal how good this was. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Wonderful! it was very tender. I have never made a better roast! I will use this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was very good. The onions absorb the wine flavor and the sauce and onions (marinade) are really good over mashed potatoes. Will definitely make again. Oh, I made the whole roast in a crock pot and cooked it in the marinade. Came out really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I made this in the slow cooker, without marinading it beforehand, and it turned out great. Very flavorful. I modified the recipe slightly based on what I had: I used only half an onion; 4 bay leaves; 2 cloves of garlic; no thyme and instead used 1/8 t. dill weed; only 1 1/2 T. olive oil; and added about six carrots, cut in large pieces. I used Pinot Grigio as my wine. My three-year-old ate everything on his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States