Roast Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2000
IT WAS GREAT, HOWEVER CHILDREN ONLY EAT FAST FOOD SO I COULDN'T GET MY SON TO TRY IT. HIS IDEA OF DINNER IS HOT DOGS, HAMBERGERS, CHICKEN NUGGITS, ECT. MY WIFE AND I FOUND IT TO BE EXCELLANT. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
I made this recipe in a electric rotisserie(Ron Popals) instead of a conventional oven at 20 minutes a pound, checking the temperature after 1 and 1/2 hours (165 degrees). The roast was very tender and crisp on the outside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Excellent recipe....had it for X-mas dinner. Easy to make. It definitely will be made again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CorkyF

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was my first time making lamb roast and it turned out great, if I say so myself. My husband always orders lamb at restaurants and he LOVED it. I served it with mint sauce and have enough left over for another meal or two. I added fresh lemon juice and used dried rosemary. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Didn't turn out like I thought it would but it could just be that I stink at cooking meat. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this for Easter Dinner. It was excellent. Very simple and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Wonderful, simple and simply delicious. The fat on the lamb gets so yummy and crispy that it's hard not to resist nibbling on it. The drippings make a fantastic gravy too. Great Mikell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This simple way of roasting lamb is pretty much an institution in Australia.. its THE special family meal and there's nothing to compare. One important point though, unlike roasting a chicken,it's important to turn the leg over approx. half way through the cooking time (trust me on this, I have probably done this hundreds of times over 35 years). So, its a good idea to put the slits (stuffed with slivers of fresh garlic and sprigs of fresh rosemary) on both sides of the leg. Rub lightly with olive oil and throw in the oven. Better than dinner with Tom Cruise! (re old lamb TV ad...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
very easy I made this leg of lamb (aprox 5 lbs) for a French Soiree party. I roasted my piece of lamb on 400 for one hour to brown, then added about 3 cups of water and covered the lamb, turned down the temp to 275 and let it slow cook for about 3 hours. 45 mins before it was done I added small new potatoes and 1 large onion sliced. I let it rest for about 20 mins before slicing. It was so tender you could cut it with a fork. I made a corn starch gravy out of the juices that were left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I brushed olive oil on before seasoning it. When the roast was done, I sliced it and stirred it with the drippings. This made all the meat very flavorful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States