Roast Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Simple additions of garlic, rosemary, sea salt and uber biber made this a real hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nellysford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a good recipe but I added one thing:completely cover the entire top of the leg with thick sliced bacon. It really enhances the flavor of the lamb in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Simple and quick - my favorite kind! No prepping in advance. Here's a summary of my notes from various sources: - Remove lamb from fridge 1 hour before cook time to avoid hot and cold spots - Preheat oven 325 15 minutes before placing the lamb in - Consider a processor to chop garlic and rosemary before putting into lamb for better mouthfeel - Oil the lamb before coating it with salt and pepper - Add about 2+ cups water to the pan (lamb elevated) to catch the drippings for gravy, avoid smoke - Option: add potatoes or vegetables to roast on the side. Roast time depends on weight and preferred done-ness. "Official" USDA recommendations are geared to avoiding gastrointestinal mishaps and liability, so their numbers run high. Medium to medium rare seems to equate to internal temperature of 130-135 or 25-30 minutes per pound at 325. Mine was boneless leg of lamb and next time, I'll undo the netting, put the processed garlic, rosemary and salt mixture into the meat and re-roll it and tie it with string. Why? For crispy skin in the last 15 minutes I raised the temp to 400 but the result was drier (grey) meat on the outside and lamb with a crust stuck in the netting. For me, 325 all the way~ or 300 over a longer period of time. The rosemary and garlic are powerful and no marinating is necessary. You can add whatever additional flavor to the gravy afterwards - re
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janie
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Turned out really good! I drizzled some olive oil over it, and the veggies. I would for sure make this again. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I cooked this recipe but I thought my lamb was a little tough so I cooked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I ususally HATE lamb. My husband wanted some for Easter so I found this recipe and gave it a try. It was AMAZING!! we were all cleaning the bones and scraping the pan for the last bits, and that includes my super picky kids who won't eat anything. Fantasitc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I used fresh garlic and rosemary and sea salt and pepper. This was great. I had a 6.5lb leg so we put it on 400 for 35 mins then added some water to the pan and covered it and slow roasted on 275 for 2hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The Lamb was fantastic and so easy. Came out flavorful and tender. The only change I made was to put a light coating of olive oil on the leg prior to the spices. A new family favorite! !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Omg. This is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Use a meat thermometer for perfect results. Remove the roast from the oven when the needle hits 125 degrees. Let it rest about ten minutes. The results are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States