Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very tasty and easy! I added a little red wine to the marinade..... we had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Even the leftovers were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
very nice flavor. Be sure to follow others' suggestions re: cooking temp/time and putting water in the pan. I seared at 450 for 20 minutes and then slow-roasted at 325 for another 2 hours or so under a foil tent (I had a bone in leg, so mine took longer to cook). I checked every 20 min or so near the end with a meat thermometer and basted each time. For that last 10 min I removed the foil tent and it browned up nicely without drying out. The drippings + the water at the bottom of the pan made a perfect au jus. We didn't bother making it into gravy. We served it with strawberry spinach salad II & deviled eggs for an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
lovely flavour from the marinade and not overpowering like some can be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyPersian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent marinade. I took the recommendations of others and added 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar to the marinade. We let the meat marinade overnight as well. Cooked at 450 for 20 min, used a loose foil tent and cooked at 350 for 55 min then removed the tent and cooked at 400 for 10. Meat was Medium when done. I will cook for less time at 350 next time for more med rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
What a beautiful recipe! Used it on a 9lbs leg of lamb and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Italian Mommy
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe and really easy to make. I wasn't sure about the ingredients at first but wow, they tie together nicely. The only thing I did different was turn it all the way down to 350 after the initial 20 minutes at 450, and I cooked it a bit longer, I think about 90 minutes. It was perfectly medium rare. I gave this recipe 5 stars becuase my 4 year old fussy eater asked for seconds, which rarely happens, let alone with meat. What an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My first time with lamb and I received many compliments at my Easter dinner! However, I do not feel the marinade permeated the meat very much - I did cut slits in roast and inserted garlic and that I tasted. I baked at 450 for 15 minutes, then turned down to 325. The lamb roasted for hour and a half until thermometer read 120. Wound up resting for 30 minutes while other dishes were cooking and temperature rose to 130. I would make this again, but I skip the overnight marinade next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hixercise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made this for the first time for Easter dinner. I did add a splash of lemon juice and a splash of balsamic vinegar to the marinade and marinaded overnight in a ziplock bag. Based on other reviews I baked at 450 for 20 minutes, then reduced to 350 for one hour with the plan to up the temp again to finish the roast. Mine was a boneless leg that weighed just over 4 lbs. Anyway, I should have put the temp probe in when I decreased the temp to 350 because by the time the hour was up my roast was way past medium rare and up to 150. The flavor was really good and I would make it again but next time stick the probe in from the beginning so I didn't fly past medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I tried some of the alternative cooking methods and ingredients that other posters recommended. But I ended up doing the cooking differently from what others suggested and it came out fabulous! I would make this again! To the marinade i added: 1/4 c honey, 1/4 c balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon lemon juice (instead of zest), 1/4 c olive oil. Keep leftover marinade for basting. I sliced little holes in the top of the roast and put sliced garlic cloves in holes. Place roast in uncovered roasting pan, fill the bottom of the pan with water, not too much but enough to keep the drippings from burning in the pan. Do not cover roast. Make sure you place your oven rack so the roast itself is in the middle of the oven - not the ovenrack. Roasting pans raise the meat so be sure to place the roast so the top of your roast is in the the middle of the oven. Preheat oven to 425, cook for 20 minutes. Lower oven temp to 350, check meat, use extra marinade to baste meat, add water to pan if necessary. I checked the temp and basted with marinade every 25 minutes. You will probably have to add a little water everytime you check the meat. Otherwise the drippings will burn and smoke which is not what you want. The meat took about 2 hours or so to be medium rare. The great thing with the roast was that the ends were medium and the middle was medium rare so if you have multiple people over this would be very beneficial. let rest for 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States