Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe, exactly. Honey does not taste right in lamb gravy. There is too much rosemary. The high heat makes the roast cook fast and tough. Next time, I'll cook the de-boned leg of lamb in a crock pot, using salt, pepper, garlic salt, a twig of rosemary. Then, the meat will be tender and seasoned correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My guests said it was the best roast lamb they had in years using this marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Excellent recipe! I didn't have time to marinate overnight so I did it for about 5 hours. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly....with wonderful results. Check the internal temperature regularly because mine cooked much faster than the recipe specified. I've added this to my recipe box as I definitely will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Surprised that this turned out so poorly. I love lamb and have had luck with lamb chops and rack of lamb in the past, but this was so overdone it was like shoe leather! I used a probe type thermometer to watch it cook accurately without having to poke it more than once or open the oven, so it should have been perfect. Came out right at 145 as advised for medium rare. Let it rest for 10 minutes. It was so overdone it was hard to chew. Don't know what the problem was. I like my lamb rare or at the very least medium rare but this had no pink or red, just grey the whole way through. Also, the outside was dried out and almost burnt. It seemed like the honey in the marinade carmelized then burnt. Perhaps it was my gas oven which burns baked goods, but I usually have better luck with roasts. Barely edible unfortunately. Obviously not the norm with this recipe looking at other reviews so something must have gone very very wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Sorry this recipe was terrible. I literally washed off the marinade after I cooked it 3/4 of the way and re seasoned it with salt and pepper and garlic- it was much better. I had second thoughts about the honey in this recipe , my family reaffirmed my doubts- they did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've only roasted lamb once before. The recipe was easy to follow and the results were great. Got a lot of compliments. Thanks! Only thing I would be careful about was the time to get to 145 F. It took a little bit longer than 60 mins @ 400F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I also added lemon juice and balsamic vinegar to the marinade. Delicious. Deboned and butterflied the lamb and put it in a rotisserie grill basket to cook. Very tasty would definitely use this marinade again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I've made this recipe exactly as written twice now and it's fantastic. Use this, print it and put it in your recipe box. You won't need another lamb recipe. Even family that aren't lamb lovers loved this leg of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this recipe, and followed the directions exactly for Christmas last year. This was my first Christmas dinner at my house and I had never cooked a leg of lamb. I used standard lamb cooking guidelines with the lamb since all lamb legs will not be created equal. The flavor was perfect, and I would never make a change to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I used this recipe to make my first leg of lamb. I've had leg of lamb many times, but I had never made it myself. It turned out GREAT! I didn't change anything on the recipe except for the roasting temperature. I did the first 20 minutes at 450, then reduced to 350 for the remaining time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States