Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I have never had lamb or roasted lamb. I was skeptical. I make a prime rib at home, so my spouse and I wanted to try a leg of lamb, roasted. Used the directions on the package, along with rinsing the lamb, patted dry, rubbed with oil and scored and put in garlic, rubbed with course salt, garlic powder and pepper, mixed and roasted adding no liquid whatsoever. Cooked according to package, starting with higher heat, then lowering the heat and roasting. Let rest in foil tent. It was delicious, moist and tender... My spouse said it rates just one notch under my Prime Rib (which I also got the recipe from allrecipes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
VERY TOUGH!! I cooked 2 5lb boneless legs of lamb purchased fresh from Costco. I have slow roasted my lamb in the past and had excellent results but for Easter dinner 2014, I unfortunately used this recipe and roasting instructions. I had a number if guests who prefer their meat medium and others who prefer well. I took the first roast out at 145C and the second at 165C and let both rest for 20-30 minutes. They carved well and looked quite pink inside. Unfortunately the meat was VERY TOUGH. Hardly any was eaten off the plates and there was much left over. There were 14 people dining. I was so disappointed. The next day, I put the leftovers in the crockpot in low for 10 hours along with some if the gravy. After cooking in the crockpot the lamb was delicious and tender. So I would say if you're following this recipe, roast it the day before, slice it, and then cook in the crockpot for 8-10 hours on LOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very good, but I did make a few changes to the cooking temp and time. I started the roast at 400 for 20 minutes then decreased the heat to 325 for another 2 hours. It was cook to medium and still juicy. I had the roast marinating for two days prior to cooking and the flavor was great. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
It was so good and so easy to make. It was tender and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Did exactly what it said and my first leg of lamb was great. Had to use a foil tent, but i guess it depends on your oven. Used a new zealand lamb very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this tonight. Delicious. Served roast potatoes, peas and mint jelly on the side. The roast worked out perfectly, but I also used a meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Razoun
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My go to recipe! Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wow. Delicious marinade. The lamb was so succulent and flavorful. I butterflied the leg so I could get more of the marinade in the middle, then put back together and tied with cooking twine. I have a counter top rotisserie and used that and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Great food!!! The family loved it!! I use rack of lamb for this also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
my family loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States