Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used these ingredients to roast a de-boned leg of lamb, this past Christmas lunch. It was *delicious*, even though I could only marinate it for a few hours prior to roasting (I had not found a recipe I liked until the morning of Christmas). This is a delicious rub and you will not be disappointed with this recipe. My whole family loved this lamb. Kudos! The only changes I made were to pour a cup of water in the bottom of the pan, then roast at 450°F for 10 minutes, flip, cook for 10 more minutes, flip, then reduce heat to 325°F, flipping every 20 minutes. These instructions were found in the Julia Child, Volume 2, as well as the Cooks Illustrated cookbooks. 450°F is necessary to sear a crust, sealing juices inside and preventing the leg from drying out. Reducing to 325°F ensures a tender meat inside. I cooked to internal temp of 120°F at the very center, while the edges were already at 140°F. As the leg of lamb sat, it the center raised to 130°F, just like Julia said it would :) . Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is the best lamb recipe ever! I made this for a friend's birthday dinner and everyone loved it! I didn't have any lemons, but it still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this lamb recipe for Christmas Day. It was wonderful. A big hit with family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pearl
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Sooooo gooood!!! The flavor was perfect, the lamb so tender, the gravy it produced was also perfect!!! We just had this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I roast it in a corningware Dutch oven, taking the glass lid for the last 20 minutes to brown it, was juicy inside and caramelize the out side, always check the temperature before taking out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonzalezlovetocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very easy to prepare and cook. Came out very well. I used a boneless Australian Leg of Lamb and will use American next time. The marinade was good but to me very basic, I prefer more of a Mediterranean flavor. There was a net around the lamb since mine was boneless, next time I will remove this. I let the lamb sit out for 20 mins prior to cooking, I will leave it out 30 next time as the core needed to be closer to room temp in my opinion as the center only reached 135 degrees and was slightly more rare than I'd like. Otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I've done this recipe every year for the last two or three years and it's always a favorite! Even my mother loves it and she doesn't particularly care for lamb. Easy to prep, easy to cook. Thank you so much for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Monroe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great and very flavorful recipe. I need to find a cut of lamb that does not have so much bone in it. Not a lot of meat in the cuts that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I tried my first ever roast leg of lamb (boneless) - this recipe is a winner, it came out of the oven looking like a pro had made it. My husband loved it too. I had a smaller piece of meat than the one mentioned in the recipe so I had to adjust for that - I have learned 45 minutes to a pound of lamb roast/ the last 20 minutes I covered it with tin foil. This recipe is surely going to be on our Thanksgiving table this year, so easy and can be marinated a day or two earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States