Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Best lamb recipe I've ever cooked or tasted! This was a hit at our Easter luncheon today, everyone complimented me for it. I had never made a sweet marinade for lamb, it really was perfect. I also followed the suggestion of making the gravy with the drippings from the pan, adding red currant jelly and wine... wonderful. I roasted red potatoes in the pan, and they were perfect with the lamb. Cut in half, cut-side down cooking in the marinade and lamb juices... yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Loved it. The lamb turned out moist and tasty. I served at Easter, and my 85 year old uncle stated that he hated lamb, and then reached for seconds First time he had ever had one that he liked. One thing that I did was use two 3.5 lb. legs of lamb, bone in, instead of one 6-7 lb one. It work well because I was able to cook one a little more so that we had rare-med. well on the table. Cooked 450 for only 15 min as it was starting to look a little burnt. Then lowered it to 350 for 20 min/lb. Marinade made it tasty. I added a little olive oil and tried the vinegar too. Really put a lot of garlic and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I bought a 3.3 lb roast and used the same amount of marinade. I wanted to marinate overnight, however, fell asleep before getting to it. I marinated a total of 5 hours. Cooked in a roasting pan with rack, 450 degrees uncovered for 20 minutes then 350 degrees covered for 1 hour 20 minutes. Make sure to add 2-4 cups of water to bottom of pan. I added a combo of water and the marinade. I let the roast sit for 15 minutes before serving. I made gravy from the drippings. Very yummy! My husband does not normally eat lamb and this was the best dish of the meal! Absolutely delicious! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tugba Emily Madaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Excellent flavour! For those who prefer a more meaty taste, use a leg of goat (actually - kid), the flavour is only a little stronger and the meat is low cholesterol. Another alternative is to use apricot juice in place of honey. The fruit acid cuts the greasyness of lamb - cooking slowly at low temp gives best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Fantastic! Was a perfect Christmas eve meal and made for a couple of days of delicious leftovers. I used an electronic meat thermometer to ensure a perfect, slightly pink center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This came out great for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
this was an excellent recipe, I found the honey burnt a little with the high cooking temp. but it might have burnt anyway. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blois Family Farm
Home Town: Elmsdale, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Awesome! My first time roasting anything and it came out perfect! First timers might want to check out Gourmet Lamb Dishes in the Related Collections section for a thourough tutorial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious, with flavors in the marinade that complement the lamb, and cooked just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great taste! Add a dash of balsamic. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States