Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I read all the reviews prior to making this dish and share the following: I did add the dash of lemon juice and the balsamic vinegar to the marinade as suggested by one reviewer; I also added two cups of water to the pan when I roasted the lamb. I followed the advise to cover loosely with a foil "tent" and cooked the meat for 20 minutes at 450, turning it down to 350 for 1 hour before putting the heat up to 400, removing the foil and continued to cook for a further 10 - 15 minutes. Roast was medium; I would cook about 10 minutes less at 350 to have a medium rare roast. As also suggested I took all the marinade (cooked with the roast), added a little red wine and red currant jelly. The roast was left to rest for 10 minutes and carved before serving with the sauce poured over. It was absolutely delicious. Sue from Richmond Hill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Taste buds went to heaven! We used a boneless leg of lamb, just under 7lbs. We added 1/4 c Balsamic vinegar, 1/4 c olive oil, and substituted 1 teaspoon lemon juice in place of lemon zest. We slit the roast about an inch deep all over the top and inserted lots of slivers of fresh garlic; marinated for 2 days and sprinkled with regular salt. We placed the lamb on a rack in a covered roasting pan, added cut up potatoes and carrots, baked at 350 for 2 hours, basting every 20 - 30 minutes. We didn't need to place marinade in the middle as others suggested, and also didn't need to add water to the bottom of the pan. We will add at least one cup of water to make gravy in the future. Moist, flavorful dish! The ingredients were a perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
723 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very tasty for you lamb lovers! We added a squirt of lemon juice and 1 tbsp. balsalmic vinegar to the marinade. Baked the lamb with the marinade in an oven bag for 2 hours at 300 degrees. It was super tender! Took 2c of the fat drippings and cooked up a sauce with 1c. milk, 1tbsp cornstarch, rosemary twigs, and 1tsp balsalmic vinegar, salt/pepper to taste. A superb sauce/gravy for the lamb. We'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
My first attempt at lamb. It was fabulous. I did put an aluminum foil tent on the leg of lamb during the first twenty minutes so it would not char..I then roasted it at 350 for 1 and 1/2 hours or until my instant read thermometer read 130 (or medium rare). I added two cups of water to the roasting pan. I read the reviews on this recipe and they were right on. I marinated it for two days, the taste was fantastic. My father in law, who loves lamb, said this was the best lamb he ever had! Another point, worth mentioning, is that I purchased an "American Lamb" versus a "New Zealand Lamb". I read up on lamb in the "Joy Of Cooking" and they stated an American lamb is more tender and sweet then other lambs. I had twelve people for dinner this Easter and they all loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
made this recipe for easter dinner. my wife didn't want me to do it because it wasn't her mothers recipe. she only eats lamb one day a year and wanted it to be good. she loved it even though it wasn't her mother's lamb. the cooking temperature scared me though, so it roasted to perfection at 350 for 20 minutes a pound, 135 degrees on a meat thermometer. next time it will roast at 300 degrees. it should be more evenly cooked at the lower temperature. the marinade makes for a rich savory gravy. it would be hard to improve on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southwest Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I too followed the advice of another member and put all the ingredients in the blender. Then I took a pastry brush and "painted" it on the roast. I think this made it much easier to handle. A couple of problems I had. I watched the time very closely but the top of the roast did burn. I beleive that this roast is cooked at too high of a temperature. Normal roasting time is lower temp (325) for 2 1/2 hours. I think that is what I will do next time as my roast would not cook through and I finally ended up lowering the temperature (because the top was burning) and I let it cook another hour. Other than that, I thought the marinade was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Wow. This was my first roast lamb, and it was spectacular! I made it for Easter dinner and it was perfectly caramelized on the outside, and pink and juicy and tender on the inside, with such a wonderful flavor from the marinade. I used a boneless, tied roast (about 5 lbs.), the lemon juice from the lemon I zested, a splash or two of soy sauce, and a dash of balsamic vinegar. Marinated over night, roasted 20 minutes at 425, then turned down to 350 for remainder of the time. Poured 2 cups of water to the pan, and basted with the leftover marinade a couple of times while cooking. Used a foil "tent" when I noticed it getting too brown. I also used a meat thermometer to check for doneness. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmTricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Great, I cooked mine in an oven bag to enhance the flavour and avoid the marinade burning. Have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Lamb is a favorite around our household, but had always been reserved for dinners at restaurants. I was nervous about cooking lamb, but not anymore. This lamb was wonderful, it marks the first time my boyfriend has not had any suggestions for changing the recipe. I did follow several other peoples advice and cooked it at a lower temperature (320 degrees) on the lowest rack in my oven. I also put an tent over it after it was brown to prevent it from charring. Also I made a sauce from the reserved marinade and the pan drippings that was a perfect compliment to the meat and the vegtables I served with the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This lamb roast was delicious. I put garlic cloves inside the roast to help add to the flavor of the meat. I initially roasted it at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes, then at 350 minutes for the rest of the time. A 145 degree internal temperature is too low, the roast was very pink(almost red)through out. I will try an internal temperature of 160 degrees next time I make this recipe. Also I will add water to the bottom of the pan to help prevent the sauce from burning up on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States