Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Didn't have time to marinate overnight. Took the meat out of the freezer at about 11am, thawed in microwave, then put all ingredients with meat to marinate in one of those oven bags for about 4 hours. Instructions for the baking bag say not to cook over 400f, so that';s what I did - cooked at 400f for about 2hrs. Opened the bag about 3/4 of the way through and added 1c water. Result: Pink in the centre...delicious, tender, flavorful - raves from company. For a gravy (or sauce) I added a mixture of about 1tbsp cornstarch and 1/4 c water to thicken and added (as per another reviewer) a couple of tbsp Balsamic vinegar. Excellent accompaniment. Excellent dinner which I served with a salad, homemade rolls, roasted potatoes, stir fried asparagus and homemade mint jelly. The jelly I made according to the first reviewer for Mint Sauce but I added an envelope of Knox gelatin because my husband doesn't like the watery stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I followed a lot of the reviews to tweak this recipe because I was making it for Easter and didn't have room for mistakes. I used the thermometer and cooked it more well-done. It pleased even my guests who normally don't like to eat lamb. )I read the top 3 most helpful reviews focusing on the heat and moisture components).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
add balsamic vinegar...super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very tasty and easy! I added a little red wine to the marinade..... we had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Even the leftovers were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
very nice flavor. Be sure to follow others' suggestions re: cooking temp/time and putting water in the pan. I seared at 450 for 20 minutes and then slow-roasted at 325 for another 2 hours or so under a foil tent (I had a bone in leg, so mine took longer to cook). I checked every 20 min or so near the end with a meat thermometer and basted each time. For that last 10 min I removed the foil tent and it browned up nicely without drying out. The drippings + the water at the bottom of the pan made a perfect au jus. We didn't bother making it into gravy. We served it with strawberry spinach salad II & deviled eggs for an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
lovely flavour from the marinade and not overpowering like some can be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyPersian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent marinade. I took the recommendations of others and added 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar to the marinade. We let the meat marinade overnight as well. Cooked at 450 for 20 min, used a loose foil tent and cooked at 350 for 55 min then removed the tent and cooked at 400 for 10. Meat was Medium when done. I will cook for less time at 350 next time for more med rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
What a beautiful recipe! Used it on a 9lbs leg of lamb and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Italian Mommy
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe and really easy to make. I wasn't sure about the ingredients at first but wow, they tie together nicely. The only thing I did different was turn it all the way down to 350 after the initial 20 minutes at 450, and I cooked it a bit longer, I think about 90 minutes. It was perfectly medium rare. I gave this recipe 5 stars becuase my 4 year old fussy eater asked for seconds, which rarely happens, let alone with meat. What an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States