Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Beautiful flavor. Needed twice the marinade though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Amazing!!! My boyfriend, who dislikes lamb, loved it. I subbed lemon juice for zest. I only had dried rosemary. I used a quarter cup of balsamic vinegar. I added more garlic b/c I always do. I also tented the lamb. Everyone who tried it thought it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was SO stinkin' good. I didn't have time to marinate over night, but I did for about 5 hours. It came out so tasty and delicious. IT was super easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiljaMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
4.5 per Lebanese husband who loves lamb. :) Saw later that others had added balsamic vinegar to the marinade so poured a splash over the lamb part way through roasting; I think this gave the sauce too much bitterness. So make sure you add it during marinating or not at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was really delicious. I was on a shortened schedule, so I only marinated for 4 hours, but it still turned out delicious. I also took the other reviewers' recommendations on temperature. The first 20 minutes was at 425 vs. 450. The rest of the time was at 350 for about 60 minutes, and it turned out a perfect medium rare. You just have to have a good meat thermometer and keep a close eye near the end, as it can go from medium rare -> medium -> medium well really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
OH!! This was absolutely WONderful! I also strained the remaining marinade, thinned it with a cup of water and poured that over the lamb at intervals during cooking. This prevented sizzle splatter and made a base for THE most wonderful gravy (after I ran it through the blender to smooth it out) YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I make this every Christmas and it ALWAYS a huge hit! One recommendation is take it out before you think it's done. It can over cook quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I make Lamb Shanks all the time but I wanted to switch it up and do a leg of lamb recipe. I checked the web for a good LOL (my acronym for Leg of Lamb... Just made that up) and found this one. OMG (Nope, didn't make that one up. Hehe), this is absolutely succulent. Like others, I added about 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar and fresh lemon juice (one lemon) to the marinade recipe. I baked mine in a cast iron Dutch oven (by Martha Stewart) and added a cup of water to the bottom of it before I put the LOL (going to copyright that) in. I put the lid 3/4 on roasted that baby at 375 for almost 3 hours. I basted it regularly and flipped it over to cook on the other side (which is why I think it was so juicy throughout) for the last hour. I like my roast well done, so you may want to reduce your cook time to 2 hours if you like it on the pink side. I actually didn't have time to marinade this over night, but it was a home run just the same. I paired this up with some black eyed peas cooked in smoked turkey, whipped candied yams, brown rice and cornbread. The Mister might give me a ring after this one (LOL...Laughing Out Loud, not eating on a Leg Of Lamb.. Hehe) because he loved it. Seriously, though, wicked good recipe. I'm adding this one to my catalog for sure. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The flavor was very good. If you have a temperature probe, you'll be better off. I paired this with the "Roasted Rosemary Potatoes." The two dishes went hand and hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My first time cooking lamb too! This was amazing. BTW - I added a Tablespoon of chopped sun dried tomato to the marinade. "Good Groceries" as my Dad used to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gary Maurice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rural Hall, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States