Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
The entire family enjoyed this recipe, even those who do not care for lamb. Unless you like rare lamb make sure it's cooked above 145 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Mmmmmm! This was the most amazing marinade-- brought out the flavor of the lamb, and kept it so juicy. I cooked a small piece of lamb, on the bone-- just about 2 pounds, not a whole leg, but a piece of one (just two of us). I did it at 450 for 15 minutes to crisp, then took out of the oven, added a 1/4 cup of water to the marinade and juices, and covered with a tent of foil. Put it back in to cook for another 25 minutes at 350, and it turned out just perfect-- juicy and medium rare. My husband took one bite and declared it spectacular-- I have to agree completely!! Thanks for this recipe, really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Another 1st timer here, never fixed a roast lamb before. Followed the directions to the T, except letting it marinate from late Sunday afternoon to cook time Tuesday night (actually forgot that it was in the fridge). I am very inexperienced with roasts, and this one got charred on the top, but not TOO bad. Its a practice roast for a small dinner party this coming weekend. Thursday night I'll put together another roast, will heed advice of several reviewers, and hopefully it will come out a little better. This first roast will get trimmed up and made into some lamb stew and frozen for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Griffin10
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My first time cooking lamb, and it came out pretty good. I think maybe a little overcooked, but that would be user error. I really liked this marinade because of how well it stayed on the meat, some marinades are so watery that most drips off and is wasted. I made *Rosemary Red Potatoes* off this site as a side dish, and it was a perfect compliment! I'd also recommend lining your pan with foil - it makes clean up so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time last year for easter dinner. It was also the first time I'd made or eaten lamb. This recipe is fabulous! I LOVE it i've made lamb several times since then and wont make it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
What a great receipe!!!!!! I will make this over and over again! I didn't marinate the lamb over night but let it sit in the fridge for about 7 hours. The trick is to sear the meat at a high temperature to lock in the juice. I made this with greek style potatoes and sauted zucchini and tomatoes. Yummm! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Madz902
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
My first attempt at roasted leg of lamb and it was a hit! My husband even thought it was beef (he loves beef) lol I didn't have time to marinate overnight - just about 2 hrs and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made this for my family's Christmas Dinner. None of them had ever had lamb before. When making the marinade I thought the mustard would be too strong, but the finished product wasn't too strong. Instead of roasting it in the oven I seared it off and finished it in the slow cooker. My family also can't stand pink meat so it was far more well done then I like it, but it was still good. They all enjoyed it and I will definitly use this next time I do a lamb roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
i made this dish for new years and it was perfect! Everyone really loved it and i will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Since several people said that the meat did not take up the marinade, I used an injector to inject the marinade directly into the meat. I also slivered the garlic and pushed it into slits in the meat. Everyone loved this recipe. I will use this as my new recipe for leg of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States