Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
GREAT recipe! I made this --rather, a variation of it-- tonight and got rave reviews from the husband and teen-age son. Modifications: I cut slits around the meat and underneath the fat-cap to insert slivers of the garlic clove and some shallots that I had sliced. I ground pepper, sea salt, dried rosemary, sage (didn't have thyme), and fresh lemon zest together and whisked these with the olive oil, 1T of Dijon (German stone-ground) mustard, 1 T Worcestershire sauce, and the juice of 1 lemon in a small bowl. Using a basting brush I liberally coated the meat in all the folds and outside. I also basted the roast twice with this mixture. (I added the rest to the glaze/sauce later.) I also tucked some fresh oregano leaves into the folds of the meat before I tied it back together. I tented the tinfoil over the 5.5 Lb. boneless roast and baked at 350°F for 3 hours until perfectly done. In a small sauce pan over medium heat, I combined the drippings with 1T of cornstarch and whisked well (I had about 3/4 of a cup of drippings). I then added the 1/4 c. of balsamic vinegar and the left-over basting spice (about 1/2T). The glaze was very strong so I did not pour it over the meat, letting the guys chose how much they wanted. I served this with roasted potatoes & carrots and biscuits. I would've done a salad, but the guys didn't want one. Thanks for the recipe & all the tips from other reviewers!! I will make this one again. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Best leg of lamb we have ever had! After 33 years of marriage, this was the first time I cooked the main course. I followed the advice of adding water to the pan and balsamic to the sauce. Absolutely outstanding results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was the best lamb I've ever had! I made this for Mother's Day along with some grilled vegetables. This was a 5 star meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
YummY! Made as written on easter sunday. A hit with all present!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was excellent!! Cooked exactly as recipe says except I added a bit of balsamic vinegar to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Not much experience with lamb, but this was easy and the results were very good. Everyone liked it and asked for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is the best lamb ever. I followed other reviewers cooking time suggestions and added some lemon and balsamic vinegar. Turned out great. I might try it in the crock pot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Smells great, but not enough flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very good, I marinated it for 4 hours, I am sure it will be even better marinated overnight. I used a 4 lb leg, and it was a tad dry. I followed the 20 minute a pound rule, but didn't include the first 15 minutes in that time, I probably should have added it in. I will make a gravy for it next time. There will be a next time with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Best lamb recipe I've ever cooked or tasted! This was a hit at our Easter luncheon today, everyone complimented me for it. I had never made a sweet marinade for lamb, it really was perfect. I also followed the suggestion of making the gravy with the drippings from the pan, adding red currant jelly and wine... wonderful. I roasted red potatoes in the pan, and they were perfect with the lamb. Cut in half, cut-side down cooking in the marinade and lamb juices... yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States