Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Great preparation, great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
delish! I added a splash of balsamic & lemon as suggested, not sure it made that drastic a difference, but it was fantastic. I turned it over once when it started to brown up then covered with foil once the rest was getting brown. Baked til 135 degrees and it was a delightful medium rare, my husband said, "Is this really lamb? It's the BEST lamb I've ever had!" Yes it is! Left-overs worked quite nicely into The Supreme Shepherd's Pie from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The marinade didn't really penetrate the meat with this recipe. I found it fairly bland. Given how popular this recipe is, maybe I'm just not a big fan of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I adjusted the recipe by doubling everything except the lemon zest, but then I added 2 tablespoons lemon juice and 5 tablespoons plum butter. I also used course grain mustard (IKEA brand) instead of the dijon style, and I was more generous with the salt (put on just before roasting). I did not use a tent, nor any water in the oven, and I used a Fisher & Paykel Aerotech in the roasting mode (20 min high heat, followed by 1h10m at 320 degrees F). I used a meat thermometer to measure 150 degrees F internal temp, which gave me a medium roast (I had a 5.5 pound bone-in leg). The outside was blackened, but that was fine with me, and the roast turned out beautifully -- very tasty. I also decided to make a mint plum sauce to go with the roast, which I made by brewing mint leaves in a cup of boiling water and adding about 3 tablespoons plum butter and a teaspoon of honey. That was a great addition, but the lamb was delicious by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdevola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe is FANTASTIC! My hubby made it last Thanksgiving for to take to a potluck dinner and of all the food there this was the ONLY item that was not left over. He added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon for our taste. There was no question about what we are taking to the potluck this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have made this recipe several times now and it never disappoints. It is amazingly tasty and tender, the gravy tops it off splendidly. Kudos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is an easy to make, wonderful tasting leg of lamb. A family favorite, it turns out well every time! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
The best leg of lamb I have ever made! I followed someone's suggestion adding lemon juie and balsamic vinegar. Put a tray of water while baking, etc. The meat tenderly juicy. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made exactly as is and the flavor of the meat was a 3.5. I'm not a big meat eater so I based the final rating because my husband ate about 2 lbs by himself. With the drippings, I made an Au Jus sauce by adding 1 package of Au Ju Gravy, honey, sugar, and cinnamon. OMGoodness was it good once it was dipped. Served with Roasted Vegetables, Radishes with Butter and Salt, and a loaf of sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
perfect. Just like my mother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Fresz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States