Roast Goose with Wild Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dstaup
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
First time ever roasting or earing goose for me. It was delicious! I added mushrooms,dried cranberries and used thyme and sage since I didn't have savory. Really good and would use the Recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The stuffing came out very yummy! I put the extra in the microwave and served it on the side, not as good as the in-bird stuffing. Ours wasn't too fatty, I think the secret is taking out the pad of fat that is just inside the goose before cooking. We brined our goose for 24 hours in a turkey brine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
substituted the hazelnuts for almonds, and this was great, and goose for capon. I cooked the rice al dente and this allowed it to soak in the flavour. A big hit with my picky relatives!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
not a hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I usually make "dressing" instead of "stuffing. I goose just renders too much fat. I roast the bird on a rack and stuff it with a couple of quartered apples. I discard the apples but they soak up a lot of goose grease. Turkey comes with my grandmother's cornbread/sage dressing. I do a wild rice dressing, in another dish, to go with goose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We made this for Xmas and it was so good!! I love the stuffing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Used this at Christmas as a Turkey filling, was very good. Great for people with wheat allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I made the stuffing for this recipe last christmas eve (2005) and I loved it. It had great flavor and texture and was a great alternative to the tradional stuffing. I took the left overs to a party and I don't know how well it was recieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
wonderful new taste. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I made this goose for Christmas dinner (plus a duck) to serve 6 adults. While the goose turned out tasty and terrific, the stuffing was a bit greasy. However, I had extra stuffing that I could not fit into the cavity and I had put this into a casserole dish and heated it prior to dinner. This is a better option as it is not so greasy and you can still present it with the meal. Simple recipe but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States