Roast Goose with Port Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I rate this based on the extensive and detailed recipe. I have been roasting a goose for last 40 years and the simple European recipe is still the best. Only salt and caraway rubbed inside and outside. Never pick the skin until the last 30-40 minutes stage of roasting. It holds the precious juices that will come out for the sauce you keep. You collect the clear fat( very precious stuff for roux and even medicinal purpose) every 30 minutes. After you finally prick the meat you add broth from the neck and giblets. (You can fry the liver on the goose fat for the pate).Goose is not done ,until the legs move freely when pushed. Rule is the same as with the rotisserie roasting: do not rush to get the color on the skin. It will get golden when it's time comes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I served this meal on Christmas Eve to my typically Midwestern family. They couldn't believe how juicy the goose was without being greasy, and my mom loved the gravy the best! I did turn the goose over for about 20 minutes to get it brown all over, but I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe, but 1 point to make. Use the fat removed prior to cooking by making goose-fat pastry. For the pastry: remove the large, visible chunks of fat you'll see inside the raw goose. They are obvious. Put them in a pan with some cold water and heat very slowly until melted. Cool, then chill in the fridge. Lift off the fat; freeze it. For ordinary shortcrust pastry use 2oz of fat to 7oz of flour, plus salt as usual. Grate the frozen fat into the flour, rubbing in in the normal way, then binding with very cold water. Rest, then use. PS I always add some lemon juice before the cold water. (Goose fat has a very low boiling point, so it has to be frozen to make pastry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
THe meat was excellent and so was the gravy, but there was almost no meat on the goose. Will make similar gravy again, but not the goose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
If ANYONE is silly enough to discard goose fat, please discard it my way. The fat from 1 goose (rendered and frozen) will last even a New Orleans cook for a year. It yields the most incredible mouth feel and tase to any dish using oil, and you can't imagine the superior quality of a goose fat roux. The port and sherry are great flavors with this, and adding fresh tarragon makes it even more out of this world. P.S. Way to go.....Saints are 13-0!!!! Laissez les bon temps roulle!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe for any time of year, and the gravy is to die for. This is a keeper,thnks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
The goose was great. Everyone loved it. It was very moist and the gravy was awesome! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyanah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe for Christmas this year and it was absolutely wonderful. The meat was moist and tender and the skin was crispy. What more could you ask for?m Thanks for the fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
All i can say is fantastic!! used this recipe twice now and it is absolutely awesome thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuck dagel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was unbelievably good. The sauce really made the dish. This was my first time cooking a goose and everyone kept telling me that it would be very greasy. It wasn't, it was delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States