Roast Duck with Apple Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
What a success!!!! This was my first time making a duck and it turned out fabulous. And what presentation! I think this will become a regular on our dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
An easy recipe with incredible flavor! The taste of the duck and the stuffing go so well together; you'll want a bit of each on every forkful. I stuffed two ducks with this recipe and had some left over. I added chicken broth to the leftover stuffing and heated it up toward the end of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
First time I've had duck that wasn't so greasy I couldn't eat it. The apples in the stuffing we a nice touch, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Made this dish for wife and I Thanksgiving '05, it was great. really enjoyed apple stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I was looking for something than turkey for christmas and came upon the idea of duck. The duck turned out as excellent as the dressing which had pecans pieces added and a tad less apples that called for. To round out the meal we fixed baked sweet potatoes with ginger and honey and fried okra (both also found on allrecipes.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
The duck turned out great. My daughter who usually tries to avoid eating meat, tore into the duck. The dressing was good, but I had a 5.3 duck, and I was unable to fit all of the dressing into the duck. So after, I finished cooking the duck, and then mixed the dressing from the duck and the leftovers into a casserol dish. Bake at 350 for 30 uncovered. For every pound cook the duck at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
My duck was 4.3 lbs. and barely had enough meat for 2 adults and 2 small kids. There were no leftovers which my husband usually takes to lunch for the next day. The apple stuffing was fantastic. I didn't peel the apples and the skins weren't even noticeable when the stuffing was cooked. I also added some poultry seasoning and celery leaves, chopped, to the stuffing before cooking. The leaves added more celery flavor and looks pretty too. I too had extra stuffing after stuffing the duck, so I put the extra in a baking dish and dotted with butter and baked for 30 min. at 350. Before I took the stuffing out of the oven, I left the stuffing on the middle rack of the oven and turned the broiler on to give the stuffing some crunchy bits. Careful not to burn. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Absolutely delicious. Quite a hit for a slightly non-traditional Thanksgiving. The duck was extremely to prepare and came out moist, flavorful and not greasy. I had a 5.6 pound duck, and I could have halved the dressing and it still would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I am a fan of duck in general but I used this recipe for Christmas dinner this year and was quite pleased. It turned out fabulous. Both my husband and myself plus my 4 guests especially enjoyed the stuffing. I served this duck with a goose too so that we would have enough meat for 6 adults. Simple but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States