Roast Duck with Apple Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
My duck was 4.3 lbs. and barely had enough meat for 2 adults and 2 small kids. There were no leftovers which my husband usually takes to lunch for the next day. The apple stuffing was fantastic. I didn't peel the apples and the skins weren't even noticeable when the stuffing was cooked. I also added some poultry seasoning and celery leaves, chopped, to the stuffing before cooking. The leaves added more celery flavor and looks pretty too. I too had extra stuffing after stuffing the duck, so I put the extra in a baking dish and dotted with butter and baked for 30 min. at 350. Before I took the stuffing out of the oven, I left the stuffing on the middle rack of the oven and turned the broiler on to give the stuffing some crunchy bits. Careful not to burn. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I was looking for something than turkey for christmas and came upon the idea of duck. The duck turned out as excellent as the dressing which had pecans pieces added and a tad less apples that called for. To round out the meal we fixed baked sweet potatoes with ginger and honey and fried okra (both also found on allrecipes.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I tried this recipe for Christmas dinner. The duck came out beautiful. This was my first duck. I will use this recipe again. The stuffing was also ease to fix, & enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I am a fan of duck in general but I used this recipe for Christmas dinner this year and was quite pleased. It turned out fabulous. Both my husband and myself plus my 4 guests especially enjoyed the stuffing. I served this duck with a goose too so that we would have enough meat for 6 adults. Simple but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Eh, I wasn't overly impressed with this. The stuffing was pretty tasty, but I thought the duck itself needed more flavor to cover up the game taste a bit - yes, I know duck by definition should taste game-y, but a nice sauce or more seasoning to the flesh itself could have worked with it and improved on it. I think my next foray into duck I will try to do the classic duck a la orange or maybe the version of Peking Duck that is on the website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
The duck turned out great. My daughter who usually tries to avoid eating meat, tore into the duck. The dressing was good, but I had a 5.3 duck, and I was unable to fit all of the dressing into the duck. So after, I finished cooking the duck, and then mixed the dressing from the duck and the leftovers into a casserol dish. Bake at 350 for 30 uncovered. For every pound cook the duck at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was the first time I ever made duck at the request of my husband for Christmas dinner. I bought a 5 pound duck and followed the recipe exactly. There will definitely be extra dressing that won't fit in the bird that you can bake up extra on the side. My duck took almost 2 hours to bake and was perfectly juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I agree with the other reviewers that a duck that size cannot feed four hungry adults. This was for just three people and there wasn't much to go around. Also, a lot of cooks say duck legs and breasts deserve different treatment and I concur. This was my first duck and I loved how the breast meat came out, but not the legs so much. The stuffing is terrific and I followed the recipe faithfully, using a homemade corn bread recipe from a cajun cookbook and mositened with some homemade chicken stock on hand. If I do this again, I may just go with breasts alone and cook the dressing separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This recipe is absurdly good. I did this for my first Christmas party and everyone asked for the recipe. Even picky eaters loved this. Be prepared that it will make a lot of drippings, so if you want, you can also make some gravy to go with everything, though it's definitely tender enough to not need any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My first attempt at duck, and it was a big hit at Christmas. I added dried cranberries and salt and pepper to the dressing (no seasonings listed for the stuffing?). The skin did not get crispy, but I'm glad because I then would have been tempted to eat it, and it is quite fatty. This is definitely a good recipe if you are new to duck. The cranberries added color to an otherwise tan dish. I didn't have cooking twine, so I used toothpicks to shut the cavity, and that worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States