Roast Chicken with Thyme and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Very, very good!! Very moist and the lemon, thyme and onions gave it a great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Very bland for our tastes. But very juicy. Was able to use chicken in other dishes without altering flavors of them. A good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very delicious! I used one large chicken and roasted it at 350 for about an hour and 45 minutes, it was perfectly juicy. I added potatoes and put the onion in the cavity. I also put some thyme under the skin. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made one chicken and I did add a couple more spices, like paprika and rosemary. I know of no chicken that cooks in a half hour. Maybe my oven is slow, mine was done in almost two hours. That aside, this was a moist and flavorful chicken that my family darn near inhaled. I loved how simple it was and how it really didn't need too much babysitting. This recipe was a winner, as most chickens cooked with citrus in the cavity are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
this was good...a little too lemony for my liking...next time I will leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very tasty and moist. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I used dried thyme instead of fresh, and I know it made a huge difference. Instead of bursting with flavor, the chicken was so mild I used the leftovers in a Mexican dish the next evening. I'll definitely make this again with fresh thyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I also love seasoning roasted chicken with thyme! It pairs so naturally with chicken. Followed recipe except I used a nearly 6-lb. chicken so I roasted at 375 for close to two hours, and I quartered the lemons that were stuffed into the cavity. Chicken came out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T the first time making it - and it earned a 4 star from me and my roommate. i've since made this about 5 or 6 times, and now I just wing it - nothing is measured - and it always comes out delicious. I took Barb's advice and stuffed the mixture under the skin as well. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was very good. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I altered the recipe a bit. I did stuff the cavity with lemons ( I cut them in quarters), shallots and onion. I did also stuff some thyme twig and all in the cavity. The changes I made were I chopped shallots, onion, and tore off the thyme leaves and stuffed this under the skin with a few lemon slices. Then I olive oiled the outside and added plenty of garlic and onion powder. During baking I basted. Very flavorful and the shallots and onions under the skin cooked so it was soft and sweet to eat. The lemon slices from the skin I didn't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States