Roast Chicken with Thyme and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I'm not a great cook, so I wasn't sure how this would go. But it worked great! I had a pack of 5 chicken thighs with skin and bones. I ended up slicing up a lemon and putting each thigh on a lemon slice and tucking a sprig or two of thyme under the skin on top. I sprinkled about 5 or 6 cloves of garlic and a quatered onion around the chicken. I didn't have shallots, so I just omitted them. I kept checking the chicken until it looked done (maybe 20 min) and while it was resting I reduced the liquid into a sauce (after spooning off the excess oily) Next time I'll try a whole chicken and see if the lemon is more pronounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
My family loved this recipe. By far the best baked chicken I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Absolutely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Great roast chicken recipe. I had an extra half-lemon in my fridge, so I sliced it up and stuffed it under the skin along with the thyme, which infused it with a wonderful lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very delicious! I used one large chicken and roasted it at 350 for about an hour and 45 minutes, it was perfectly juicy. I added potatoes and put the onion in the cavity. I also put some thyme under the skin. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
this was PERFECT! I roasted a local, Amish-raised chicken, it was extra succulent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I also love seasoning roasted chicken with thyme! It pairs so naturally with chicken. Followed recipe except I used a nearly 6-lb. chicken so I roasted at 375 for close to two hours, and I quartered the lemons that were stuffed into the cavity. Chicken came out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very tasty and moist. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Very, very good!! Very moist and the lemon, thyme and onions gave it a great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
this was good...a little too lemony for my liking...next time I will leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States