Roast Chicken with Thyme and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This tasted really great and the family liked it, but I had the same problem I always have with roasting chicken - the clean-up in the oven!!! No amount of foil tenting, various roasting pans or any other contraption I come up with makes much difference. Tastes great, but I probably won't make again for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly and yet my chicken wasn't even close to being ready in the amount of time given. We had to cut it apart and continue cooking it, then broiling to get the skin brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent flavor! My chickens were quite a bit larger than 2.5 lbs (closer to 5 per, I think), so I had to cook them quite a bit longer than instructed, and at a lower temperature so I didn't kill the outside before the inside was ready - probably about 90 minutes at 350. This is also a great recipe for leftover chicken to use in other recipes, as the flavors aren't too strong or distinctive to blend well with other things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe for a standard roast chicken - the herbs and lemon really standout. The only caution I have for cooks is to make sure you use a larger bird. I made this with a small bird and whiel the meat wasn't done until the directions, the bird came out fairly dry. If you are going to do a small bird, make sure to tent the bird with foil and baste to keep it moister. This is what I should have done, and will do the next time I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
The onions were good, but the chicken was unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I'm not a great cook, so I wasn't sure how this would go. But it worked great! I had a pack of 5 chicken thighs with skin and bones. I ended up slicing up a lemon and putting each thigh on a lemon slice and tucking a sprig or two of thyme under the skin on top. I sprinkled about 5 or 6 cloves of garlic and a quatered onion around the chicken. I didn't have shallots, so I just omitted them. I kept checking the chicken until it looked done (maybe 20 min) and while it was resting I reduced the liquid into a sauce (after spooning off the excess oily) Next time I'll try a whole chicken and see if the lemon is more pronounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
My family loved this recipe. By far the best baked chicken I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was very good. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I altered the recipe a bit. I did stuff the cavity with lemons ( I cut them in quarters), shallots and onion. I did also stuff some thyme twig and all in the cavity. The changes I made were I chopped shallots, onion, and tore off the thyme leaves and stuffed this under the skin with a few lemon slices. Then I olive oiled the outside and added plenty of garlic and onion powder. During baking I basted. Very flavorful and the shallots and onions under the skin cooked so it was soft and sweet to eat. The lemon slices from the skin I didn't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Great taste. We don't use butter and the chicken was fine without it. Didn't know what was meant by "line with thyme sprigs" so I tucked some under the skin and put more inside with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GumboGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States