Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe, easy to prepare and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very flavourful yet so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I rarely give a recipe 5 stars because I usually end up making changes based on the reviews. This one is an outstanding recipe because it is sooooo easy and so good...an instant family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I think I did something wrong, which is very possible as I am rather new to cooking. For some reason ingredients I put in the middle (rosemary, onion, garlic, and lemon) did not seem to get into the rest of the chicken. It mostly just tasted like plain chicken. And the veggies I put with the chicken also seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Simple and tasty. I have made this many times, and now I add a few extra seasonings to get more intense flavor into the chicken..lots of fresh, minced garlic, oregano, thyme, and seasoned salt everywhere (inside, under the skin, on top of the skin) in addition to generous amounts of fresh rosemary and pepper. I oil the bird with olive oil prior to seasoning and add one can of chicken broth to the pan as other reviewers suggested. I've always been unsure whether to bake this covered or uncovered, but this time, I left it uncovered for the first and last 15 minutes. Also I poured off most of the chicken broth (saved into a glass measuring bowl) for the last 15 minutes so the bird could get crisper. This is a great base recipe to customize with your family's favorite herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good! I minced garlic and rosemary and added lemon juice, lemon zest, olive oil, salt and pepper then rubbed this all over the meat (under the skin) and saved a little to rub over the skiin. I also cut a lemon in half and placed it in the cavity along with some rosemary sprigs and about 6 garlic cloves. Very tasty. Roasted a 5 1/2 pound chicken for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Fantastic. Followed others advice as well, my 5.5 lb chicken took the full 2.5 hours to cook to 160 (which is done at our house). I made a gravy while my bird rested. For gravy, pour out the chicken broth and juices. Extract approx 2 tbls of the fat from the top. Add to 2 tbls of flour. Cook for 1 min. Add 1 cup room temp milk or cream. Thicken over heat for five min. Add 1 cup of the broth chicken juice mixture. Salt and pepper to taste. And a dollop of daisy! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
AMAZING! I've recently discovered a love for roasting whole chickens. My husband and I have been known to devour half a chicken in one sitting! I think this is our favorite recipe so far. I sprinkled the juice of 1/2 lemon over the chicken, then placed the other 1/2 lemon in the cavity along with the onion and rosemary. I then drizzled the outside with some olive oil and rubbed generously with kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. I also saved some of the rosemary to rub on the outside. It took about 2 hours for my 3.5 lb bird to get done and it was worth the wait. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great base recipe! There are a zillion variations (I once stuffed the bird with an apple and another time with celery) but I always coat the bird in butter (under and over the skin) and I always roast breast side down to make the breast meat juicier. Sometimes I add veggies to the roasting pan, sometimes I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I followed advice of other reviewers and rubbed bird with olive oil, then rubbed with salt and pepper and rosemary. I also brushed with melted butter....next time maybe just do the butter. I stuffed cavity with mixture of salt, rosemary, onion, lemon, garlic, and a sprig of thyme. Next time may try barefoot contessa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States