Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was great!! I gave it 4 stars though because I too did what it seemed like a lot of other people did: rubbed the outside of the bird with pepper and salt (I used seasoning salt), and olive oil and lemon juice and rosemary then stuffed the inside with onions, the squeezed lemons I had used, 2 garlic cloves and some more rosemary. I dumped a cup of chicken broth over it and then cooked for 2 hours on 350. I have never made a whole chicken and this was great and super easy! There was enough drippings for gravy too. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was very good and very easy. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Wonderful and SO easy. I couldn't find a 3 lb chicken at my grocery store so I used a 6 lb one instead. I stuffed the cavity with a little more than 1/4 cup chopped rosemary since I had a larger bird and as much of the onion as would fit. The house smelled amazing and my family loved it. The rosemary flavor really permeated the chicken. I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The chicken (especially the skin) really was amazing. It received a compliment from my husband, which are hard to come by. We ate the whole thing! I followed recent reviewers: onion, garlic and rosemary inside the bird, lots of salt and pepper and olive oil in and out. I did put potatoes, carrots and onions along with some water underneath and still used the rack. Unfortunately, those were not done in the 2.5 at 350 so I guess I should really only review the actual chicken...and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Wow! So moist juicy and so tender, I did not have to cut the meat with my fork -the meat was so soft! Did not take much to prepare the chicken as I always have fresh herbs on hand. I chopped up a few sprigs of fresh rosemary, added a little chopped sage, 2 garlic cloves, the juice of 1 lemon, sea salt, black pepper, and olive oil with a little butter. I mix up the seasoning until somewhat pastey and smear the rub inside the chicken skin and all over the chicken, leaving the lemons and onion on inside cavity. I add a generous amount of olive oil all over the top of the chicken, add more sea salt, rosemary, and black pepper. I let the herbs marinate in the chicken for a while before roasting. In the roasting pan I add the quartered onions with celery, carrots an chicken stock. Put chicken on top of the vegetables. I squeeze more lemon all over the chicken right before roasting. I put the chicken in the oven, uncovered, let it roast at 325 degrees for a few hours. Follow the "20 mins per pound of chicken" rule but I also want it more juicy and tender so I let it roast on lower temperature longer. When the juices run clear and chicken done, I take it out and let it sit for few mins. I served the chicken with, "rice with herbs de provence," scooping up all juices onto my rice and "herbed mushrooms with white wine" (all from AR). I also prepare my turkey the same way, see, "Easy Herb Roasted Turkey, " also from this website. Awesome as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I have made this 3 maybe 4 times, and every time I make it is a big hit. I add lemon wedges and garlic cloves to the stuffing. I also like to cut openings in the chicken skin, and add butter slices in between the skin and meat. It makes the skin sooooo crispy and the meat so savory. It is delicious. I also make a baste of olive oil, lemon juice, sea salt, pepper and rosemary. I baste every 30 minutes. Comes out perfect all the time. I use the leftover meat and make a wonderful risotto using another recipe on here: gourmet mushroom risotto. Perfect weekend meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Deeeeeeelicious! I followed some of the tips down at the bottom (lots of lemon, garlic, butter and rosemary under the skin, olive oil on the skin, chicken broth...) It was FABULOUS! My first ever oven roasted chicken and I can't stop eating it! Kids and husband loved it too. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Such a simple meal to prepare, and it tastes absolutely awesome! I stuffed the chicken full with onion, rosemary, the juice of a lemon and lemon wedges. Rubbed the outside of the bird with olive oil, salt and pepper. Cooked with potatoes and carrots in the pan, and the chicken and veggies turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is the best and easiest chicken recipe I have ever had! The brine solution is a must for a tender bird. I have always been a "from the box to the oven" kind of cook, but this recipe has given me the confidence to try to make more foods that aren't processed. Hubby and all 4 kids love it. My 10 year old says this is his favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My husband and I truly enjoyed this. I confess, I did make some small changes. I used the Citrus Turkey Brine from this site overnight. I cooked it on a rack for about a half hour, then poured in some chicken broth, and basted it every once in awhile. I also stuffed the cavity with a quartered lemon. Thank you for this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States