Roast Chicken with Potato, Olives and Greek Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is a fabulous chicken dinner. I have a chef service and my clients love it. I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pike

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was delicious after I read other reviews and kicked up the volume a bit on the spices. 1 TBS of greek seasoning doesn't look like enough. Instead of butter, I rubbed the chicken with Olive Oil, sprinkled generously with Paula Dean's House Seasoning (salt, garlic powder and pepper) and then added about 2 TBS greek seasoning (reserving a bit for the veggies). I used chickens halved, so I pre-baked my veggies for 30 mins at 400 degrees with a bit of greek seasoning and tossed in Olive Oil in the roasting pan. Giving them a couple stirs during the cooking time. Oh, I also tossed in big cloves of elephant garlic. Ummmm YUMMO! After veggies are done cooking, I pushed them to the side and added my chicken and turned the heat down to 375. Used lemon slices to layer the bottom, put my chicks on top and gave them a bit of lemon juice squeeze and baked until they were done. About 45 mins. I did slice my potatoes and glad I did that since the wedges would not have cooked properly. The chicken was fabulous and moist. I didn't do the spinach feta thing either.. I just plated the chicken and served the veggies in a side dish tossed with a fresh squeeze of half the lemon and we were set to go! Delish and very easy. The elephant garlic was fabulous, but potatoes and onions were nicely browned and very tasty cooking in the chicken juices. I didn't want them bathing in chicken fat and the chicken halves worked well... without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This dish was absolutely delicious. It wasn't difficult to make either. My husband loved it. The potatoes were wonderful. I can't wait to make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Great dish! Something different! I used Cavender's all purpose Greek seasoning! Perfect fit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I've been making this recipe for about 4 years now. When I was single it was my 'go to' recipe. I still make it for my husband. The chicken is always delicious and it can be dressed up and served for guests. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very Good! The vegetables had a great flavor and a beautiful presentation. Not as time consuming as it sounds. A great change for a roasted chicken. I cut the chicken up and ran it under the broiler for a few minutes while the veggies were cooking to crispen the skin. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was different and delicious. I couldn't find the Greek seasoning so I mixed up my own (although I didn't have any mint to add). Still it was really good, but I agree, it is time consuming.But don't let that keep you from trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mission Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
very good. A bit time consuming but it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Excelent way to improve on a chicken for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Very tasty! The chicken was somewhat greasy - I think next time I will lessen or eliminate the butter; used fingerling potatoes and they were thoroughly cooked when the chicken was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States