Roast Chicken with Cracked Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I had never roasted a chicken before if you can believe it. This was fantastic and I have done it 3 more times since. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Yum!.. The sauce was wonderful and I used Sherry instead of Vermuth; I did have to thicken it because I used half and half instead of whole cream. I also took another tip and poured off my liquid into a saucepan and then left the chicken uncovered for the second hour (6lb chicken) to brown the skin. Really good thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I wanted something simple to make and this was it!! Not only was it easy, it was absolutely delicious as well. Since I didn't have vermouth on hand, I sustituted sherry, which wasn't half bad. I will definately prepare this again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
i wanted a peppercorn sauce to go with another dish i'd prepared. had tryed others but this one was easy to make and tasted like ones you get in the restraurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was delicious! As always, I adjusted the recipe according to what was in the cupboards, i.e. white wine instead of vermouth, small onion inteaad of shallots, double cream not whipping cream. but it made an average roast dinner that much more special. I also roasted the vegetables in the same dish as the chicken; the carrots tasted wonderful! I would probably increase the amounts of the sauce if I was making it again, it was so delicious 2 of us had no problem finishing it all off! (recipe for 4 people!) Thank you Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I used chicken broth and a little red cooking wine instead of vermouth ( I just do not keep alcohol on hand). I also seasoned the chicken with a teaspoon each of poultry seasoning, dried rosemary, and dried parsley. The chicken turned out scrumptious. THE CRACKED PEPPERCORN SAUCE IS AWESOME! I had it over mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was a really good roasted chicken recipe! i used green onions instead of shallots but other than that i followed the recipe. i did have trouble getting the broth down to 1/2 cup so i had to add some corn starch to thicken the peppercorn sauce. it was really good. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I love to roast chicken and have tried many different recipes and this ranks at the top! It was SO GOOD! The sauce was outstanding! I served it with smashed potatoes. My husband couldn't stop! I cooked it in a roasting pan with a tight fitting lid. I think this is much better than foil as it really seals in the moisture. I had PLENTY of drippings left for the gravey. It WAS very salty so next time I will rub the chicken with a very small amount of salt and I think that will fix it. Also, instead of heavy cream I used fat-free milk. I heated one cup in the microwave until it was steaming (watch it closely). I then immediately whisked in about five tbsp flour one at a time and then added this to the reduced drippings. I got a very smooth gravy which was not too rich. You're not going to get the thickness this way that you would with heavy cream but it wasn't watery and tasted great and certainly was much more healthy. I will absolutely make this again. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Incredibly tasty, my roomate and i finished the entire chicken in one sitting. I served wild rice and broccoli as sides. Will definately be adding to my personal recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This turned out amazing. I used chicken stock and white wine for the broth, stuffed the cavity of the bird with fresh rosemary, and sprinkled it inside and out with herbes de provence along with the salt and pepper. I also basted the chicken while it was baking. The chicken was unbelievably tender and moist and the sauce was wonderful; my husband was drinking it as soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States