Roast Chicken with Cracked Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was delicious! As always, I adjusted the recipe according to what was in the cupboards, i.e. white wine instead of vermouth, small onion inteaad of shallots, double cream not whipping cream. but it made an average roast dinner that much more special. I also roasted the vegetables in the same dish as the chicken; the carrots tasted wonderful! I would probably increase the amounts of the sauce if I was making it again, it was so delicious 2 of us had no problem finishing it all off! (recipe for 4 people!) Thank you Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I wanted something simple to make and this was it!! Not only was it easy, it was absolutely delicious as well. Since I didn't have vermouth on hand, I sustituted sherry, which wasn't half bad. I will definately prepare this again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I used chicken broth and a little red cooking wine instead of vermouth ( I just do not keep alcohol on hand). I also seasoned the chicken with a teaspoon each of poultry seasoning, dried rosemary, and dried parsley. The chicken turned out scrumptious. THE CRACKED PEPPERCORN SAUCE IS AWESOME! I had it over mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I couldn't decide if I wanted to make Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken or this - so I combined them, kind of. I used the recipe here with the directions there pretty much. :/ :D Using a 4 & a half pound chicken, I combined a 1/4t salt, 1/4t pepper & 1T olive oil & brushed that on. I put 1/4t salt & 1/4t pepper inside. Since I didn't have shallots, or the desire to go out & try to find some, I subbed 1/4c minced onion & 3 cloves minced garlic with the vermouth. 450 oven for 30 & 400 for 60. It was nicely browned & slightly crispy. Next time, I'll take it off for a bit near the end. It was too salty, too. I'll probably half the amounts I tried. To save calories (big laugh), I used half & half. It tasted good, but didn't thicken. I also didn't feel like crushing peppercorns so used coarse ground black pepper. It was fine. I don't see how a tablespoon of pepper couldn't be a typo. I thought it was 1 tsp so tried 3/4t. Although it didn't thicken for (hot) dinnner, it thickened up fine for (cold) lunch. I poured the sauce in with the chicken meat. Next day, it was quite yummy. I added some chicken salad ingredients with chopped apples. 'Put it on French bread & had a good time. :D It was worth waiting a day to have. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I love to roast chicken and have tried many different recipes and this ranks at the top! It was SO GOOD! The sauce was outstanding! I served it with smashed potatoes. My husband couldn't stop! I cooked it in a roasting pan with a tight fitting lid. I think this is much better than foil as it really seals in the moisture. I had PLENTY of drippings left for the gravey. It WAS very salty so next time I will rub the chicken with a very small amount of salt and I think that will fix it. Also, instead of heavy cream I used fat-free milk. I heated one cup in the microwave until it was steaming (watch it closely). I then immediately whisked in about five tbsp flour one at a time and then added this to the reduced drippings. I got a very smooth gravy which was not too rich. You're not going to get the thickness this way that you would with heavy cream but it wasn't watery and tasted great and certainly was much more healthy. I will absolutely make this again. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe did not work for me. The chicken itself was wonderfuly moist and tender, but the sauce was horrible. I was excited to try a peppercorn sauce but it just didn't work. I'll have to try another recipe for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was a great recipe. I tweaked a bit, substituting white wine for the vermouth and milk thickened with flour for the cream. I also added a bit of herbs de provence to the chicken. The peppercorn sauce was a delicious little gravy, I wish there was more of it! There will be next time I make this, and there definitely will be a next time. I served it with mashed potatoes and peas and some tasty dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This turned out to be very good, but with very subtle flavor, not a big flavor. I used the usual substitutes: chardonnay wine for Vermouth, and onions for shallots. After about an hour in the oven, it was a pale chicken with A LOT of watery juice, so I poured most into a saucepan and boiled it down, while continuing to roast the chicken. It did brown up nicely. I only used a teaspoon of peppercorns, worried that they would turn off certain picky eaters in my family. I dissolved a teaspoon of flour into half and half before adding to juice -- it thickened up like gravy, which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Well... I don't know what to say, other than I think this recipe has some potential. Vermouth must be salty, because this dish was VERY salty and VERY peppery with 1 Tablespoon of cracked peppercorns (and yes I did crack my own peppercorns). I didn't hate this, but didn't love it. The chicken was moist. I give it 2 stars because I probably won't make it again, but it was edible. Sorry, I really had high hopes for this recipe, it sounded so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Tried this recipe last night and my chicken turned out soooo moist. Every part was seasoned and full of flavor. The cream sauce was an added "palate pleasing" taste. Impressed my mother into thinking I've been taking classes. So easy to prepare. Hope others try this. Side dished mine w/homemade mashed potatoes w/hints of garlic. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Cohen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States