Roast Chicken Pita Pockets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
My husband really likes this one, but suprisingly my kids did too! I recommend this for a hot day when there is not much time to dedicate to the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Easy, quick, and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This tasted like a sloppy joe made with chicken. yuck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I have to agree with the other veiwer that said it tasted like sloppy joe chicken. I didn't have roasted chicken so I used 3 boneless chicken breast(1#) and sliced them thin while still partially frozen. I made the sauce minus the onion and added 2 T honey to compensate for the flavor. I then cooked the chicken in a fry pan with about half of the sauce until done(had more sauce than I needed) Then I filled the pita with chicken/sauce mixture the cheese, lettuce and some chopped tomatoes. I also used fresh lime juice instead of lemon. So I didn't change much except the way it was prepared. My son and I thought it to be kind of ketchupy flavored and agreed it had that sloppy joe taste. This was a different change from the usual pita fillings and if you like sloppy joes I think you will like this. Thanks Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Very yummy! Next time I'll stuff the lettuce in at the end. Mixing it with the rest of the ingredients made for some soggy lettuce in the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Schwammrs
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
We really liked this. I did make just a few changes (mostly based on other reviews I read): I used less ketchup, mayo and chili sauce than indicated. I didn't measure -- just poured in some ketchup, a little more chili sauce, and even a little more mayo, until the mixture (onions, chicken and cheese was already in there) was the consistency I'd want in a sandwich. Also, I'm usually not a big fan of ketchup and mayo, especially mixed together, but I was pleasantly surprised by this. I did add a dash of nutmeg and maybe 1 tsp of dried parsley, so that maybe also helped it not taste like ketchup&mayo. Oh, and I added some chopped almonds, for a little crunchy texture. Like someone else mentioned, I didn't add the lettuce to the mixture, but rather added it to the sandwiches as I was assembling them. And lastly, I don't understand why the recipe only calls for ONE pita bread. Maybe others have huge pitas, but I've only ever seen 7" ones - we needed way more than one! (I think we used 5 total.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was really good. I substituted tuna for the chinken and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I made a low fat version of this by using fat free yoghurt and fat free sour cream instead of the mayo - it turned out great. Very creamy and rich without the guilt. The rest of the dressing ingredients in the recipe were already full of flavor so we didn't miss the mayo. I also removed all the chicken skin (I know, all the fun bits!). I just eyeballed the whole recipe and it still turned out yummy! The creaminess of the dressing counters the relative dryness of the pita and chicken. I kept the veggies on the side (used leftover salad instead of shredded lettuce) until we were ready to eat. Hubby took the leftovers to work the next day (pita, chicken with dressing and veggies all packed separately to prevent sogginess). So quick and easy, I know this will be a regular at our table. Hubby already requested for this to be packed for his lunch regularly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I did not add the chili sauce as I didn't have any on hand, and just sprinkled in some chili powder instead for spice, and it turned out very good. For those who thought it tasted too much like sloppy joe, making it this way makes the tomato taste less overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I'm sorry but this is nothing but a flour tort with chicken, salad and some mayo and ketchup . I'm not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States