Roast Chicken Pita Pockets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Tried this with variations: added fresh tomatoes and bell peppers, used crushed pepper flakes instead of chili and reduced the ketchup and this still rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPepper13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cave Hill, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I was eager to try this recipe but only had a 10-ounce can of chicken in the house. Cut the ingredient portions in half and added to the chicken. Warmed two pitas, lined them with lettuce and added the filling. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katycooks1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
We've done a similar sandwich for years using bottled ranch dressing. Cut a pita in half and open it up. Tear up a rotiss chicken and stuff the pita half with chicken, lettuce, tomato, green onions, and cheese. Add the ranch. I keep a rotiss bird in the freezer for this great "go-to" when time is short. I'll be sure to try the home made dressing for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
recipe does not say to chop the chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I'm sorry but this is nothing but a flour tort with chicken, salad and some mayo and ketchup . I'm not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I did not add the chili sauce as I didn't have any on hand, and just sprinkled in some chili powder instead for spice, and it turned out very good. For those who thought it tasted too much like sloppy joe, making it this way makes the tomato taste less overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I made a low fat version of this by using fat free yoghurt and fat free sour cream instead of the mayo - it turned out great. Very creamy and rich without the guilt. The rest of the dressing ingredients in the recipe were already full of flavor so we didn't miss the mayo. I also removed all the chicken skin (I know, all the fun bits!). I just eyeballed the whole recipe and it still turned out yummy! The creaminess of the dressing counters the relative dryness of the pita and chicken. I kept the veggies on the side (used leftover salad instead of shredded lettuce) until we were ready to eat. Hubby took the leftovers to work the next day (pita, chicken with dressing and veggies all packed separately to prevent sogginess). So quick and easy, I know this will be a regular at our table. Hubby already requested for this to be packed for his lunch regularly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was really good. I substituted tuna for the chinken and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Schwammrs
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
We really liked this. I did make just a few changes (mostly based on other reviews I read): I used less ketchup, mayo and chili sauce than indicated. I didn't measure -- just poured in some ketchup, a little more chili sauce, and even a little more mayo, until the mixture (onions, chicken and cheese was already in there) was the consistency I'd want in a sandwich. Also, I'm usually not a big fan of ketchup and mayo, especially mixed together, but I was pleasantly surprised by this. I did add a dash of nutmeg and maybe 1 tsp of dried parsley, so that maybe also helped it not taste like ketchup&mayo. Oh, and I added some chopped almonds, for a little crunchy texture. Like someone else mentioned, I didn't add the lettuce to the mixture, but rather added it to the sandwiches as I was assembling them. And lastly, I don't understand why the recipe only calls for ONE pita bread. Maybe others have huge pitas, but I've only ever seen 7" ones - we needed way more than one! (I think we used 5 total.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Very yummy! Next time I'll stuff the lettuce in at the end. Mixing it with the rest of the ingredients made for some soggy lettuce in the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States