Roast Beef with Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I added freshly ground pepper to the roast. It was delicious and the leftovers made great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teacup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
a little bitter but delicious at hand, my husband liked it as well, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliana79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
really enjoyed this!! I was very skeptical at first, but my husband can't stop raving about how he's never had a roast and gravy that delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Oh, yum! This was better than the average roast. The new way I will cook all my roasts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayanddust

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I also had high hopes for this recipe. I tweaked it a bit by sprinkling a bit of garlic and onion powder, then browned all sides in a hot skillet. After I put it in the slow cooker with the coffee for 8hrs. The roast came out falling apart but very bland and dry. I thought it was because I needed to make the gravy for it....I started the gravy and once it was thick I tasted it, boy was I glad I did that!!! I would have really ruined the roast if I had poured that gravy all over it! I wasn't good and thats an understatment. guess not everyones tastes are the same, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Horrell Family

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I really had high hopes for this recipe, however, it didn't turn out well. The meat was dry and the gravy tasted weird. I could taste the coffee in the gravy. Cooked 8 hours on low in the slow cooker. It wasn't horrible, but it was my worst pot roast. Will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prozackat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
The name threw some folks off, but once they tried it they liked it. We took the hint from a few others and marinated the roast in red wine vinegar (to tenderize) for 2 hours. We also used beef stock in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I also tweaked the recipe quite a bit but the result was fantastic! First, I soaked the meat overnight in a mix of red cooking wine and balsamic vinegar. After rinsing off the marinade and stuffing the roast with the garlic, I seasoned it with garlic salt, oregano, cayenne pepper, and red pepper flakes then browned it for about 10 minutes. Then it went in with some potatoes and onions. It smelled great while it cooked and it tasted wonderful. The gravy turned out nicely, as well. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I gave this 5 stars with the changes I made. I used some suggestions by other reviews and tweaked it to make it the way we like it, and it was amazing! First, I didn't have a roast, so I actually used Y-bone steaks -relatively cheap cut and fantastic for the slow-cooker as the bone adds flavour and by the end of the day the meat was FALLing off the bone tender! I started by rubbing the meat with salt, pepper, minced garlic, dried onion flakes, and paprika (instead of the cayenne suggested by other users, as we are a bit shy of hot spices). I just basically covered the meat in this dry rub seasoning. Then I put it in the crockpot and covered with the coffee, beef stock and also added about a TBSP (or a little less) of whole grain mustard. It made the whole house smell amazing all day, and it was a real hit with my husband and my little girl. Will definately make this again. Didn't make the gravy this time (we had it with roast veggies in the oven) but next time I might make the gravy and mashed potatoes. This is so easy to make and versatile and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Licia Downunder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Use the red wine vinegar tip, it can't hurt and it will probably help. If the amount of coffee intimidates you, substitute beef broth for some of it. I browned my meat in a pan first, and added veggies to it while it was cooking. I liked the addition of coffee to this pot roast and will probably use that again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States